Skip to content

Be Nice to Strangers

I can’t write about running right now. It’s unfortunate but it gives me an opportunity to write about other things. Today’s post – a life post.

Age 21, year 2004
It was my favorite post long run ritual. Run XX miles, nap, go get a really large coffee drink, and then go to work. I could tell you everyone’s story at Gloria Jean’s Coffee. I asked. I knew their names, their weekend plans, and a thing or two about their family. I always smiled at them and 9 out of 10 times, I never paid for anything. Although it was never my objective to get free drinks, it just happened. Strangers who made a connection at the mall and my dear friend and coworker was always amazed. How do you do it? she would ask.

Simple, I responded. Care.ย 

Age 31, year 2014

Today I ventured into Starbucks to do a little work. One of my favorite songs was playing and the barista was jamming along. Singing, dancing, and having more fun than most people would while making drinks. I may or may not have done my own little dance too while waiting for my drink. I told the barista how much I enjoyed his dancing. His response? Oh, have you tried the new fizzio? I’ll make you one. And he did. It was delicious.

I love people. All sorts of people. It fascinates me to think that there are over 7 billion unique stories in the world and every time I meet a stranger is another opportunity to be a part of one of those stories.ย Over the years, I have found the incredible importance of a genuine smile and a kind word. When you take notice of someone else, step outside of your own world, and make the effort to connect, you break down the invisible wall that exists between you and your fellow human being. And in return, a whole new world opens up. One of loving compassion that shows you how awesome human beings really are. Just as you are trying to find your way in this world, so too is every one else. We are not the strangers we think we are.

Make a new friend today.ย Be a part of someone else’s story.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Injury Update: According to my doc, I can start working back into a running routine next week. I have to be honest, I’m slightly terrified. I try jogging around the house and the result? Serious aching in my bones caused by that damn screw in my hip. My recovery has gone fairly well. However, I believe when I attempt to start running again, it’s going to be way harder than I ever thought. Oh well. One step at a time, right?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Emily #

    Now, what friend and co-worker are you talking about?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ And, you left out how genuine you are my dear amiga. You have so much good in your heart… and it’s just waiting to flow to others. You took that Jersey/New York keep to yourself right out of me. Thank you Obi-Wan Kenobi. You have taught me more than you’ll ever know. Muah!

    July 1, 2014
    • AWWW Thank YOU Em!! That means the world to me ๐Ÿ™‚ And you have taught me quite a bit about life too. Who would have thought White Barn could create such a lasting friendship? ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you! xoxo

      July 1, 2014
  2. Lizzie Tart #

    T-Rod! You are awesome and I am so thankful to have such a wonderful role model. A few years back, I broke my elbow and had a titanium screw put in. Although my injury was not nearly as serious as yours, I will tell you that I struggled to get back into the swing of things (I was still competitively cheerleading at the time). Just go into it slowly and steadily, and you’ll be back to your normal crazy athletic self in no time! Miss you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    July 8, 2014
    • Lizzie!!! Thank you so much for your kind words! That means the world to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had no idea you had a screw put into your elbow. That makes us both bionic! I meet with my PT tomorrow and I may try to run. I’d be happy if I could run a tenth of a mile.

      I hope all is well! Enjoy your summer!

      July 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

