Skip to content

Surgery

In one hour I will be heading to the hospital. Apparently I have a displaced fractured that needs surgery ASAP. The doctor is going to put in two rods to push the bones together and then I’ll have a new, stronger hip. I like to think of it as I’ll have a bionic hip. Oh, I can see the race potential now…

I’ve never had surgery before so I’m a little nervous. Perhaps Mario will take a video of me waking up from anesthesia and I”ll have something funny to say. Some have asked if my running days are over. Absolutely not! If anything, I think this will put me on the road to finally achieving my goals. Maybe my injury streak will come to an end.

I’ll be in the hospital for a day or two. Hopefully I can make it home tomorrow because Friday is my birthday!! Celebrating my 31st birthday in the hospital isn’t really how I imagined the day to start.

When I get back home, I’ll post an update. Until then… here’s to my bionic hip! 🙂

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

See that gap... it shouldn't be there.

See that gap… it shouldn’t be there.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I don’t “like” this post but I hope this helps with the healing. You remind me of Canadian marathon mom Krista Duchene who recently finished third with a fractured femur — 500m from the finish!
    http://tinyurl.com/lbdwvuo
    Take good care of you!
    And Happy Birthday!!

    April 30, 2014
    • Thanks Tania! I love the fact that runners are tough enough to push through broken bones. Sometimes we are just a little crazy. 🙂

      April 30, 2014
      • Sometimes a little crazy can get you through a lot. Happy healing!!

        April 30, 2014
  2. Wishing you a speedy recovery. Did this happen to you in Boston?
    A blogger wrote about having to drop out at mile 15 and found out later she had a hip fracture. A friend of mine broke a bone in her foot at Boston.
    We are tough SOBs! We push so hard we brake bones.

    April 30, 2014
    • Yes we are! Not many other people run through broken bones. Thanks for the well wishes! I’m hoping this will heal my hip problems 🙂

      April 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

