Skip to content

Good People Doing Good Things

I want to take a moment this morning to share a little positivity.

While running down Hillsborough Street this morning, a group of people were crowded around a man lying on the ground in front of NC State’s bellower. My initial thought was they were checking out the fresh mulch, which was obvious by the heavy smell of wood chips. As I got closer, I realized I was very wrong.

There were no less than 10 people around this man, trying to help him. My question then became do I stop and make 11? Or do I keep going because what more can I really do to help? It doesn’t matter. You stop.

Eleven sweaty people crowded around Pablo, who wasn’t communicating. (I’m still not sure how they learned his name was Pablo other than perhaps it was on his shirt.) He was just lying on the ground, not saying anything and barely moving. Nobody had a phone and the only mode of communication was Pablo’s walkie talkie. One man picked it up and started communicating with either Pablo’s supervisor or other coworkers. Another man flagged down the next car that passed by to use his cellphone and call 911. I did not stay beyond this because there really wasn’t anything I could do. But I did run back by on my way home. What did I see? In addition to the EMS, there stood all 10 runners still waiting there by Pablo’s side. People are good.

I share this for two reasons. First, when we only share stories of negativity and bad things, that is the world we create. If we start sharing more good things and more positivity, our world then becomes much different. We create our society by what we believe. Choose to believe in the good of people.

The second reason I share this story is to give props out there to all the runners. If you think about it, runners (bikers, walkers, etc.) see a lot of action while putting in the miles. On any given day, I see people without a home, trash blowing across the street, someone struggling to get their bike on the bus, or a person with too many bags to handle. These are all opportunities to do something positive. This morning 11 people decided to not be a passerby, but instead took the opportunity to help.

There’s always a chance to do a little good in the world. Try it out. After all, we’re all in this together.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I agree. If we all gave someone a break every day it would make the world so much nicer. I try to do that on my drive in to work in the mornng. So many people are happy to sit in traffic and block a cross street or parking lot exit. It’s just a little thing, but so easy to do the right thing.

    March 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

