Skip to content

Pain.

Pain is an interesting thing. People do not generally submit themselves to pain and it’s generally not a fun thing to experience. However, sometimes in order to improve, we must experience it.

This afternoon, in nearly 90 degree weather on a hot track, as I ran my 3rd interval, I started to question why I wanted to experience this discomfort. Yesterday I learned about the difficulty of running with a bloody blister on my foot and today, I was reminded of the pain. My shorts were too short today which caused some chafing and oh yea, it was hot. Somebody please, remind me why I want to do this? Oh that’s right. Now I remember…

I can not achieve my goals without a little hard work. I will never get faster unless I am willing to hurt a little. Training in the heat and on the hills, it’s an added advantage. I saw a video once and it said the following: In any fight, it’s the guy who’s willing to die who’s going to win that itch. I realize that unless I’m willing to do more than the next person, I’m never going to get where I want to be. Pain and hard work are part of the training. Embrace it. Welcome it. And let it make your stronger. Stay focused on the goal and it’ll always be worth it.

Here is the video:

 

Happy Trails & Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: A successful track workout today but I was a little tired afterwards. Going into the workout, I was a little down because I wasn’t looking forward to working out in the heat. However, after the workout, I was proud of my consistency, my effort, and how I felt my form was improving. My next marathon is many months away but I’m really excited to make a gradual progression to (hopefully) my peak condition. Stats are here.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Colin DeWaay #

    Bring on the pain, I CRAVE it!!! 🙂

    May 28, 2013
    • Love it! I’m learning to get reacquainted with it. It’s been a few months. 🙂

      May 28, 2013
  2. Awesome video!!!

    May 29, 2013
  3. Thanks for sharing!

    May 29, 2013
  4. I like how you can do a workout and it’s so painful and scary. Then you do the same workout weeks or months later and it’s easier and you run faster. I like the feeling of that accomplishment and knowing you can run through the pain. Embrace it and you can conquer it.

    May 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

