Skip to content

Dear Hills

As I said yesterday, I’m taking my runs off the sidewalks and to the greenways. The one positive thing (or negative, depending on how you look at it), is I’m always running some type of hill. Sure, they aren’t as bad as the hills in Seattle or San Francisco, but sometimes they really do suck. During my 8 mile hilly run today, I mentally wrote a letter telling the hills just what I thought of them. I’d like to share it…

Dear Hills,

Hills, I love you. I hate you. And I respect you. I love you because when I’m effortlessly bounding down you, you make me feel like I’m a Kenyan. Incredibly fast and incredibly efficient. I hate you because when you present me with an arduous climb, you remind me that I’m not the Kenyan I previously thought. Instead I’m slow and not nearly as strong as I once thought. And I respect you because even though from afar, you make me think holy sh**, when we met face to face, I realize you aren’t that bad. In fact, hills, you really do remind me of life. Amazing when it’s easy, crappy when it’s hard, and a constant reminder that even though it may look insurmountable, it is totally doable. I’m a stronger person because of you.

Love,

A soon to be much faster runner 😉

Happy Trails and Happy Running!

Tracie

Running Update: 8 hilly miles today and now off to restaurant club with my girlfriends. Stats are here.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. We live in a hilly place. Sometimes i hate it. But sometimes i feel like it’s good to do my training with hills. I have a love/hate relationship with the hills. 😉

    May 8, 2013
    • Agreed. The great thing about hills (other than awesome calf muscles) is they make a flat race seem like a piece of cake. Happy Friday!

      May 10, 2013
  2. Wendy #

    I know how you feel. Nice ode to the hills.

    May 8, 2013
    • Thanks Wendy! I thought they deserved a little shout out 🙂 Happy Friday!!

      May 10, 2013
  3. There’s one hill I cannot seem to avoid and it’s my nemesis. It’s on the Neuse River Trail, about 3 miles in. I love it and hate it!

    May 9, 2013
    • I have never been out there. I hear a lot about it and really want to try it. But it makes the flat trails seem super easy. I’ve been doing a lot of my weekly runs on the greenway or at Umstead and my long runs at the ATT. It makes the long run so much more enjoyable.

      May 10, 2013
  4. ah yes hills. one thing is true the reward is worth the pain. oh and yes their is a good pain involved no matter if early in the run or at the end.

    May 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

