Skip to content

City Running

This week I’ve decided I’m leaving city running behind. I can’t do the slanted sidewalks, the traffic or the stoplights anymore. Yesterday, my coach mentioned to me that as we progress into this next training cycle, I get off the sidewalks. Honestly, I think that’s one of the best ideas I’ve heard in a long time.

Why? Well because I’m a creature of habit. I run the same routes on the same side of the road, all the time. Sure, I can switch it up but then I run into the problem of stoplights and traffic. Fartlek workouts in downtown are the worst idea ever! Lately I’ve been taking my runs out to the Raleigh greenway or Umstead Park and I really do love it. I love the challenge of the hills, and I love that there is no stopping unless I decide I need to stop for whatever reason. The fact that there are no distractions allow me to focus and at the same time, allow my mind wander. Since there are no cars, I don’t have to worry about careless drivers.

City running, you’ve been great for so long but I’m ready to move on. I think my running is ready for something new.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was my first workout since my injury. I had a fartlek run of 8×1 minute repeats with 1 minute rest. I have to admit, the hills were challenging but I was super stoked to keep the pace right around 6:00/min. Two intervals were even faster. I did a 3 mile cool down slightly faster than 8:00 min/mile. After the intervals, that seemed like a pretty easy pace to me. My warm up mile is here and my intervals are here.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I give myself a break sometime by running on the trails on weekends. I prefer the trails more than the roads. Fresher air and closer to nature.
    Happy Running!

    May 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

