Skip to content

Runners in their 30s

Tomorrow I turn 30 years old. Some people fear this age, but I am super excited. In addition to the birthday festivities, I am looking forward to entering a new era. A new era in my life and of course, a new era in my running.

I’ve always heard that women runners peak in their 30s. I’m not sure where the science is to prove this, but I like the idea. It means I still have hope. In looking at the top 20 finishers in the London 2012 Marathon, 14 were over the age of 30. And Irina Mikitenko from Germany, who finished 14th, was 40 years old at the time. This makes me realize 10 years is aΒ long time and A LOT can happen in 10 years.

If it is true – that women distance runners peak in their 30s – I have a few guesses as to why. First, your time is very limited. Every workout matters and if you need to get to a meeting on time, you better run a little faster. πŸ™‚ Second, how many things have you experienced in your 30+ years of life? I’m thinking quite a few and therefore, you have a mental toughness that younger 20 something year olds don’t quite get. And perhaps the Β biggest reason, at least for me, is experience. I feel like if there were a checklist of all the missteps runners should take before they hang up their running shoes, I coud check off 90% of them. I’ve run a lot and I’ve learned a lot. Although they have been hard and not always fun lessons to learn, I’m thankful for every single one of them. It’s because of these lessons and these experiences that I will eventually be the runner I know I can be.

Here is to a new decade!

Happy Trails & Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Ran with run club tonight. I went out for 4 easy miles beforehand and ended up doing another 4 with the girls. I’m going super easy and short tomorrow. Stats are here and here.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I’ve also heard that endurance improves with age. My husband said there is some physiological reason, but I don’t know enough to explain it intelligently πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful celebration tomorrow!

    May 1, 2013
    • Thanks chica!! I feel like I’m in the big girls club now πŸ˜‰

      May 2, 2013
  2. Happy birthday πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ . I was also excited when I turned 30. I thought it was fantastic. Like I had somehow made it. Though I enjoyed my 31st birthday most. I’m now 33 and still loving being in my 30s. I think I have better endurance now than ever in the past … so that’s got to be a good thing. Have a fantastic day tomorrow.

    May 2, 2013
    • Thank you Andrew!!! I feel like it’s a milestone and I finally joined the big girl’s club. I’m definitely hoping for the better endurance feeling πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the birthday wishes!!!

      May 2, 2013
  3. Happy birthday!!! I am well into my 30s but it’s the decade I started running so have nothing to compare myself to, but it’s a good decade to be in I think – enjoy it

    May 2, 2013
    • Thank you! I’m actually very excited to be in my 30s. I think it’s going to be a very exciting time and all the things I learned in my 20s can be put into practice in my 30s. I look forward to it!

      May 6, 2013
      • Enjoy it, there’s still a lot to learn πŸ™‚

        May 8, 2013
  4. Happy Birthday! Experience comes with age and experience can make a big difference in your running. You’ve got a lot of great runningyears ahead of you.

    May 2, 2013
    • Thank you! I’m learning more and more how valuable the experience is. When I think about the fact that there are 70+ year old runners out there, I realize I have A LOT of miles ahead. It’s kind of exciting to think about.

      May 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

