Skip to content

Alkaline vs. Acidic Foods

In addition to teaching Spanish, I also lead the CHS Wellness Club at school. We do yoga, learn about nutrition, and drink veggie juices. I love it. (I’m also trying to organize a 3 mile run/walk fundraiser for the One Fund Boston but am still waiting on approval.) Today, the  local juice bar provided us with some samples of delicious veggie juices (kale, carrots, apples, celery, lemon, and all sorts of yumminess) and we watched this great video on alkaline vs. acidic foods. The impact it had on my students was profound and I think it’s worth the 9 minutes. As I told them at the end of the meeting, go PLANT POWER!

 

 

 

 

I don’t plan to go vegan again but I need to get on board with a few more veggies in my diet. I mean. if I plan to live to be 100 (God willing), I certainly want to be as healthy as possible Less meat. More veggies!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fascinating video. I don’t drink soda of any kind on a regular basis, but I do love my coffee and beer. The chemistry going on in our bodies is amazing. The more I learn the more amazed I am.
    I’m trying to qualify for Boston this year so paying attention to my diet more may give me that extra edge I am going to need to run a 3:25 or better marathon.
    Great info, great post.

    April 26, 2013
    • Diet is SO important! It helps with not only performance, but also recovery. I first learned about the PH level of our bodies when reading the Paleo Diet for Athletes. It made me realize how important post workout nutrition is for adequate recovery. One of the things I remember reading is cortisol is a by product of a hard workout and it is also acid producing. If we do not put alkaline foods in our bodies, then the body will start pulling those minerals from our muscles and bones to get back to that state of homeostasis.

      I’m with you – I love my coffee and wine. As I’m typing this right before I head out for my long run, I’m drinking lemon water in addition to my coffee. Got to keep that balance! 🙂

      April 27, 2013
      • I’m thinking about adding some lemon juice to my morning glass of water. It may balance out my coffee.

        April 27, 2013
      • I bought two bags of lemons today at the store to try and counteract the coffee. 🙂 Have you ever seen Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead? We watched this documentary this morning and it has me REALLY reevaluating my food choices. Check it out if you get a chance. Have a great week!

        April 28, 2013
      • I will try the lemon juice a few times this week. My wife if a biologist and was a bit skeptical. She said your stomach turns everything to PH 2 before it goes into the small intestine.
        She didn’t say this idea was crazy but she had never heard of it before. Have a great week!

        April 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

