Skip to content

One Year Ago…

It’s very distracting to blog tonight. My eyes have been glued to the television as the capture of the 2nd Boston Marathon bombing suspect unfolds. So instead of giving myself a few gray hairs as I try to think of something to say, I’d like to share this….

One month from today my 1 year blogging adventure will be over. On May 18, 2012 I made a pledge to blog every single day for one year and so far, I have successfully completed this task. It hasn’t alway been easy, (blogging from the car, at a wedding, or while on vacation) but it’s always been worth it. I’ve learned so much about running and made so many new friends. But more than anything (and this is what I find to be the most valuable), I’ve learned so much about myself. This blogging adventure has forced me to constantly question who I am and who I want to be. A year ago I was trying to mentally recover from what I considered to be an epic fail at the 2012 Boston Marathon. And today I am sitting here watching the apprehension of someone who bombed the 2013 Boston Marathon. A year goes by so quickly but at the same time, so much happens in a year. I can’t help but wonder where I’ll be April 19, 2014….

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

I made this April 18, 2012 to keep me on track... A lot has happened since then.

I made this April 18, 2012 to keep me on track… A lot has happened since then.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fiona #

    I really hope that you’ll continue to blog after your year is up even if it’s not everyday – I’ve enjoyed reading through all your blogs and learnt so much!
    Thanks for sharing what you’ve learnt & good wishes towards becoming the best runner you can possibly be 🙂

    April 19, 2013
    • Thank YOU Fiona! I have also really enjoyed the entire process. I will definitely keep it up – although I’m not sure it will be everyday. It’ll be nice to have a break every now and then 😉 Happy Saturday!

      April 20, 2013
  2. Toni #

    I agree! Please keep blogging! So proud of you for setting out to accomplish something and doing it! You’re an inspiration! 🙂

    April 19, 2013
    • Thanks Toni T! I appreciate that 🙂 It’s crazy how fast a year can go by…. It seems like Boston 2012 was just yesterday. But go ahead and make plans for 2014… 🙂

      April 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

