Skip to content

Spread Those Toes

I have a question for you… how far can you spread your toes? No, seriously. Try and spread your toes. How did it go?

Apparently spreading your toes is a little more difficult than one might think. And if you do have trouble spreading your toes, that’s not a good thing. The ability to spread your toes is important and here is why:

  • toes help you balance
  • toes are an important part of the push off mechanism when walking or running
  • stiff toes equal inefficient gait, which can cause other muscles to compensate, leading in inflammatory conditions (think tendonitis)
  • spreadable toes equal stronger and more flexible feet
  • spreading your toes helps stretch your achilles tendon

(Source: Yoga Journal and Bay Bliss Day  Spa)

Check out this article to learn some toe stretches. And because I am not ashamed to post a picture of my very old pedicure, this is how far I can spread my toes…. I think growing up with a dance background helps a little.

This picture looks really funny to me. Don't judge. Please.

This picture looks really funny to me. Don’t judge. Please.

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Still taking it easy with a little over 4 miles today. Tomorrow I’ll do some cross training just to give my hip a little break.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Am trying that under my desk as I type!

    April 9, 2013
    • How did it go? I’ve been walking around all day with my toes spread apart. They’ve kind of started to look like fingers now. They look weird to me…

      April 9, 2013
      • oh, I should have taken a before and now pictures – slightly odd in the office, but they’re used to me! I have really wierd little toes, they’re feeling much better for a good stretch!

        April 10, 2013
  2. Interesting post. Thanks.

    April 9, 2013
    • Absolutely! Are your toes spreadable? I’ve been stretching them out all day and I’ve realized how much I let my shoes squish my toes together. 🙂

      April 9, 2013
      • I can but it feels uncomfortable. It’s not something I would do naturally.

        April 9, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ankle Flexibility | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

