Skip to content

My Own Worst Enemy

I am my own worst enemy. When it comes to running, I lack patience, discipline (in certain areas), control, restraint, and perspective. So many times, I see my run in that very moment and not how it is going to help me to reach my goal 6 months from now. I recognize this and I’m working on. I promise. Today, I have proof….

This morning Mario and I went out for a 6 mile run. I think sometimes I scare Mario because I’m not as careful as I should be when crossing the street. If a car starts to slow down, I cross the street. Well I think I gave Mario a slight heart attack this morning as we were running back home. Don’t pedestrians always have the right of way? He was planning to go a little faster on the 3 miles back home anyway and instead of suffering through more scares, he went on ahead. Normally, I would have been right there with him. But I didn’t go. I thought about my small steps to getting healthy. I thought about all of the advice I have received from my running friends. Patience. Perspective. Discipline. For a brief moment, I thought about how everyone else on the street must be thinking she can’t keep up with him. I let it go. I did what was best for me and I was proud of that.

I don’t want to be my own worst enemy. I want to be my biggest ally.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

My 2nd Saturday Run 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Catherine #

    As a new runner, of a ‘mature’ age (ha), i feel these frustrations daily. It makes me feel better that even ‘seasoned’ runners have to dial it back and pace themselves in order to improve. This really put things in perspective for me. Its a beautiful morning in FL. Im heading out!

    April 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

