Skip to content

Discipline

Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.
Jim Rohn

The best runners are the most disciplined. They go easy when they should go easy, hard when they need to go hard, have a mental toughness like no other, and realize their main competitor resides within themselves.

Yesterday, I was finally able to wrap my head around the fact that the best runners not only know how to run fast, but they know how to run slow. For so long my speed has been fast and then faster. I was competitive against my own times and I was competitive against other runners. In the end, that really serves no purpose because I lose a month or so of running due to injury.

The best runners have more than one speed and understand the value of going slower. It only makes them faster in the long run 😉 .

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is so true! I used to try to beat my time on every run. Now I mix it up. It’s hard to run slow and easy, but I’ve seen so much improvement!

    March 27, 2013
    • It is definitely hard to go slow. And then to remember to go slow when everyone around you is going faster… I’m glad you have seen such improvements! I’ll have to really prove to myself that I can go slow during this next training cycle because I do not want to get injured, again. 🙂

      March 28, 2013
  2. You should consider using your HR monitor to restrain yourself as you rebuild your base – no faster than 180-age (or, maybe, 180-age-5 to represent the fact that you have issues with injury). I’ve been doing this the past month or so while nursing my calf back to health, and it seems to be working – confident I’ll have both a huge aerobic base and healthy legs come time for formal marathon training. No strides, no tempos, no intervals, just all easy base-building.

    March 30, 2013
  3. I read that when the Kenyans are trying to run a certain speed, the point is to run the speed. If they are to run a 7:15/mile pace and they run a 7:00, they consider that a failure because they did not run the speed they were aiming for. I also read that to run fast you need to be able to run slow. All of my runs now are at varying speeds throughout the run — it’s almost as hard to do mentally as physically.

    March 30, 2013
    • I really value this piece of advice. I was going way too fast during my run today and I thought about what you said. If I were Kenyan and my goal was to go a certain pace but I was going too fast, that would be considered a failure. That REALLY helped to slow me down quite a bit. THANKS! I need the base building right now. 🙂

      April 1, 2013
      • Great work! The base building can seem slow and futile when you want to go far and fast. It’s been described to me as a wave coming in to shore. It breaks when it’s biggest and has reached it’s crest, but builds slowly and consistently on its way to shore.
        So glad to hear you are running again — and running the slow paces too! Run with your inner Kenyan.

        April 1, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Success – Doing Small Basic Things Daily | The Journal Of The Optimist

Leave a Reply

