Skip to content

Toe Stand

In Bikram, there has always been one pose that I really wanted to master, but just really sucked at doing it. My left side was always better than my right, but I needed a lot of practice. That pose is toe stand.

Whenever I would do toe stand on my right side, my right hip wasn’t strong enough to hold me in place and my left back muscles were too weak to keep me upright. I have made it my personal goal to master this dang pose in one month (my ambitious goal). I practice first thing in the morning, middle of the day, and before I go to bed. It’s hard for sure, but I’m hoping that I’m building the muscle memory and will eventually be able to hold it for longer than 5 seconds. And how cool will it be to hang out in the air by just balancing on my toes?

According to this Bikram site, toe stand increases balance, strengthens stomach muscles, helps with arthritis, gout, and knee pain, and strengthens weak joints. I’ll be sure to post another pic when I’ve mastered it. 🙂

I don’t look nearly as cool as the girl in the pic above…

 

I love the look of terror on my face.

I love the look of terror on my face.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

One Comment Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Progression | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

