Skip to content

My New Running Hero

I have just found my new running hero – Ariana Hilborn. In 2008 she ran her first marathon in 4:36. Fast forward to 2012 and she completed the US Olympic Marathon Trials with a time of 2:37:37. That’s over 2 hours faster in four years. She is 3 years older than I am and has accomplished an amazing feat. Hilborn didn’t run in high school or college and her first marathon, RNR Arizona, was the same as my first marathon. I’m her new biggest fan.

Her accomplishments are amazing and she gives me hope that normal runners like myself, with enough hard work and determination, can make amazing things happen. Check out this great article about Ariana.

Just look how cute she is!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. I read the title and for a split second imagined the day someone will feel like that about me. LOL

    Seriously though WOW, I’m in awe.

    I wish you luck in your own journey and this injury be just a speed bump.

    March 13, 2013
    • Love it!

      Yes, I’m in awe of this lady as well. What an amazing accomplishment! And thanks for the well wishes 🙂 I’ll be back out there soon enough.

      March 14, 2013
  2. Wow. What an inspirational runner. I love it when you hear about people who come from the proverbial nowhere and make it big. It shows that anyone can do it if they work hard and really want it 🙂

    March 13, 2013
    • YES! Anyone can do whatever they want! you just have to want it bad enough and work hard enough. Ariana is certainly an inspiration.

      March 14, 2013
  3. MikeW #

    Echoing Andrew…well said.

    March 13, 2013
  4. Wow. Just wow.

    March 13, 2013
    • I know, right? A few years later and two hours faster! The power of the mind is amazing. If you want something bad enough, you believe in it and then you make it happen. I think it’s time to get a better focus on life 🙂

      March 14, 2013
  5. Traci, I actually interviewed Ariana several years ago, before she hit it really big time – http://predawnrunner.com/2010/09/predawn-profile-ariana-hilborn/. I was amazed at that time by the answer to my first question – that she hadn’t in fact run in high school/college. I just assumed before then that all (potential) OTQ marathoners had run competitively for a long time. I still keep in touch with Ariana occasionally, so would be happy to “introduce” you if interested.
    Oh, and I’m friends with Salty of Salty Running too – she does her track workouts at our local middle school and we’ve met at a few races (plus, we are both past Towpath Marathon winners).
    OK, enough name dropping, I have clients to provide plans for.

    March 14, 2013
    • I would be beyond grateful if you could introduce me to Ariana! That would really make my running world 🙂 I think it’s so amazing that someone, who was never a runner until after college, can achieve what so many others dream to accomplish. That dedication and hard work is truly inspirational.

      March 16, 2013
  6. runari #

    Oh my gosh, TRACI! Thank you so much. I am beyond flattered and honored. Seriously, you made my entire year. I am so happy that my story could inspire you and others to get after your dreams! Believe! XO

    March 17, 2013
    • Ayy, thanks Ariana! And you totally just made my year by commenting on my blog. 🙂 I love following your story and you are super inspiring. I’m a runner who is struggling to reach my potential (I’m a chronic overtrainer and somewhat injury prone), but I’m really trying to get it all figured out. I truly believe I’ll get there one day. In the meantime, best of luck in Boston!!!

      March 18, 2013
  7. What a phenomenal story. Thanks for sharing it.

    March 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

