Skip to content

Strengthening the Hip Flexors

About a month ago I posted about the importance of hip flexors. I found some good stretches but right now, as I’m recovering from my injury, I want to know how to strengthen the hip flexor. There is a lot of great information out there about stretching and strengthening the hip flexor (which is super important for us runners). Here are a few of the strength training exercises I am going into start incorporating into my routine:

I think four is a good number to start with right now. If I overwhelm myself, I know I won’t do it. Does anybody have any other hip flexor exercises they recommend? I’ll take all the advice I can get!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. You should also consider a modified version on a barbell loaded bridge – if you google or YouTube ‘Barbell Hip Thrust’ you should find some pictures/videos to illustrate. The modification is that you incorporate a hold at the top of the movement (i.e. in the extended bridge position) and also emphasise the eccentric (lowering) portion of the movement – by performing it in a slow controlled manner, perhaps using a 3-4 second count. In doing so you will emphasise hip flexor activation whilst coupling that with working the hip extensors (in particular the glutes).

    Once you’re able, also try a high knee drill whilst holding a broomstick or light bar overhead – excellent for maintaining form ands irking the hip flexors.

    April 11, 2013
    • Thanks for the awesome info Paul! I’ll definitely look into it. Anything to help my hip flexors. I’m pretty sure they are the cause of quite a few of my running injuries.

      April 12, 2013
      • No problem! Yeah – not a straightforward challenge, as a lot of traditional hip flexor exercises have a big compressive load penalty on the lumbar spine. Can offset this to some extent in two ways: (1) working alternate leg, and (2) taking advantage of force = mass x acceleration equation – i.e. achieving force during training by using high speed activities (hence the variations of high knee drills). Hanging (e.g. from a chin up bar) single leg raise exercises are also an option – albeit requires good lumbopelvic control.

        April 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

