Skip to content

Wednesday Motivation

This morning I woke up feeling pretty bad, again. I feel like I’ve been sickish feeling for the past 4 weeks and it is so frustrating. I’m starting to think it’s because I work in a room with absolutely no heat and I can never get warm.

While I was driving to work this morning, I was feeling sorry for myself. Can’t run. Feel sick. Tired. Blah, blah, blah. Then I remembered very clearly the man from the gym yesterday. He was an older man, maybe around 60 and he was going from weight machine to weight machine with a walker. He struggled just to sit down, and he moved extremely show from one machine to the next. But he was there, trying.

As I remembered him this morning, I was reminded of a quote from Rocky:

Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place, and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward; how much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now, if you know what you’re worth, then go out and get what you’re worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that and that ain’t you. You’re better than that!

I haven’t been hit hard. I’ve barely been shoved. I have no idea why that man had a walker yesterday, but I very much understand that life has hit him a little harder than me. He certainly got back up, and I so stopped my complaining.

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

(I posted this pic because it was too cute not to post.)

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    I was working in a cold warehouse last week, and I definitely think it screwed with my immune system. Sorry that you’re feeling sick. Great perspective on life’s road bumps!

    March 6, 2013
    • Hope you’re feeling better! Working in the cold = no fun!

      March 7, 2013
  2. I love that clip. Someone shared it with me when I was injured and it got me through the 4 months on the sidelines.

    March 7, 2013
    • Totally agree! That clip is awesome… I come home after work and play it to get me pumped for the gym. And then sometimes I play it at night to help me be a little more productive 🙂

      March 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

