Skip to content

Hot Yoga

A few years ago, I did hot yoga once a week. Sometimes I dreaded going because I was so tired, but I always left with more energy I had than when I started. It was my favorite Wednesday ritual, followed by a hummus wrap and a beer. Is that wrong?

There are many different types of yoga classes, but no class appeals to me as much as hot yoga. It’s the athlete in me. Some yoga classes are more relaxing and more meditative. For me, hot yoga is much more physical.

I love hot yoga for many reasons. They are the following:

1) You sweat, a lot. I literally can’t stand not sweating if I’m working out. Hot yoga takes care of that in 2 minutes flat. And the element of heat makes it extremely more difficult, especially during the summer. Only once have I sat out a pose, and it was because I honestly thought I was going to pass out. A room that’s 110 degrees and a summer day that’s 100 degrees isn’t really the best combo. But for some reason, I love the challenge.

2) It’s difficult. Finding your balance, kicking your leg into your hand, putting your forehead on the floor… Whatever the pose may be, there is always a next level. You choose how hard to push yourself. I always enjoy pushing myself to find that next level.

3) It’s energizing. There is something about a really hard workout that gives me A LOT of energy. Granted, whenever I leave hot yoga, I need about 30 minutes of silence. However, after that, I have a new level of energy. It’s pretty awesome.

I stopped doing hot yoga because it was so far away from the house and it was a 3 hour ordeal. Luckily, I recently learned of a hot yoga studio that is only two blocks from our building. Wednesday was always my hot yoga day in the past. Tomorrow at 3:30, I plan to start that tradition again.

If you have a second, PLEASE read this really funny Craig’s List ad for a used mat from a hot yoga class. It’s freakin’ hilarious!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: Today is definitely the best I have felt. However, I am still not ready to run. Tuesdays use to be my track workout days so I try to do the same intensity at the gym, just with the bike. There is something about being next to someone, really loud music, and a hat that makes me extremely competitive. Needless to say,  I had an awesome cross training workout today.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hahah! That ad is hilarious! Pretty much how I picture my first hot yoga class to be like 😉 I’ve never tried it, I get a pretty good sweat going during my not so hot yoga class.

    March 5, 2013
    • Yes, that ad is freakin’ awesome!

      I’d say try hot yoga at least once. That way you can at least experience it. There is something about the feeling after a hot yoga class that is just so awesome, at least in my opinion. But yoga is great either way. 🙂

      March 7, 2013
  2. Brilliant news! I’ve got a voucher for 30 days of classes, I can’t wait to try it, but waiting until the marathon training is over – more time to enjoy it then. Love the advert!!

    March 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

