Skip to content

The Handstand

Friday night I saw this video…

 

I immediately insisted that Mario and I start practicing our handstands and back handsprings, despite the fact it was 11:00 pm. It looked like fun and I wanted to do it too.

I'm working on it...

I’m working on it…

Handstands are a common yoga pose. I’ve never been in a yoga class where I actually had to do one (thank goodness), but I’ve always heard there are quite a few benefits. According to this article, here is why we should be doing a few more handstands in our lives:

  • Improved strength
  • Improved balance
  • Improved flexibility
  • Improved circulation
  • Improved digestion
  • Improved metabolic and endocrine system

I started my Sunday morning with a few handstands today. Thankfully, I have a nice wall to keep me from falling over, because I know I could’t do it any other way. Interestingly enough, when I had Mario snap a pic, I was so crooked! I imagine that’s exactly how my body is when I run, except this time I was upside down. I was able to correct it, but it was still enlightening.

Maybe I’ll start all my mornings with a handstand. What better way to wake up?

 

Sunday morning at the Rodriguez household.

Sunday morning at the Rodriguez household.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: I’m continuing to walk better and with less pain. My goal is to get in two active recovery runs this week, but if I can not, then I will bike. It’s hard to imagine two weeks ago this time I literally could not walk. Time flies!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Brilliant! Perfect for a late Friday evening!!

    March 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

