Skip to content

What I Learned from a Yoga Instructor

I came to a very important realization last Sunday…

At the end of my yoga class, the instructor shared with the class that he would be traveling to New York for a yoga competition. He then showed us his routine. Wow, was all I could think. I wish I could do that.

It occurred to me at that moment, that  just as I was thinking this yoga instructor is amazing, someone else is looking at me thinking wow, that is amazing. Running is not something for everyone and running long distances is certainly not everyone’s idea of a fun Saturday morning. Although I have my struggles, miss my goals, and fall short of my potential, I’m still doing pretty awesome, just as we all are doing pretty awesome. Someone is looking at me thinking that my 13.1 miles in 1:33:38 is amazing, even though in my world it’s 5 minutes too long.

It’s time to appreciate what we’ve accomplished. Even if we don’t realize it, in someone else’s world, we are kicking butt.

 

I have to post a running related photo because it makes me happy even if I can't run :)

I have to post a running related photo because it makes me happy even if I can’t run 🙂

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: This morning was the first morning I woke up feeling normal. My lower back wasn’t sore and my stride felt pretty close to normal. I still won’t try to run this weekend. It’s going to be a weekend of cross training and tabata workouts. But my heart is starting to flutter every time I think about a cold Saturday morning run. I will get back out there soon enough.

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Colin DeWaay #

    In someone else’s world, we are kicking butt. I like that! Glad to hear you are getting better!

    March 1, 2013
  2. Good one Tracie. Always positive!

    March 3, 2013
    • Thanks Tania! I’m trying to be 🙂 Happy Monday and I hope you have a fabulous week!

      March 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

