Skip to content

Boredom and Running

When I tell people I run, I often times get ask don’t you ever get bored just running? Absolutely not. In fact, it is one of the most stimulating experiences in my day, and I always come back feeling a little more energized and a little more connected.

To run 3, 6, 10 or even 20 miles out on the roads is to spend an extended period of time seeing new places, seeing new faces, and experiencing new emotions. How could that ever be boring? It doesn’t matter how many times I run the same route, I always see a new person and many times, I see a new building or a new landmark that I’ve never noticed before. I connect with myself and I connect with the world around me.

Boring? The complete opposite.

When you let it, running can show you a world you never knew existed. It doesn’t matter if you’re jamming out to your music or running the same route over and over again, there is always something new to experience. You just have to let go and let it happen.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: I have to be honest, I’m not really noticing the great improvements on a day to day basis that I noticed last week. I haven’t been icing in the morning but that will change tomorrow. Today, I went to the gym and did some intense cardio. I’m such a cardio fiend, and I can’t stand not sweating (a lot) for a day. Maybe that’s keeping my hip from getting better?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. If you are using the elliptical, you may be delaying your recovery as it does put pressure on the hip (more than running does).

    February 27, 2013
    • I was using the elliptical but I’ve switched back to the back. However, I did do the stair climber as well yesterday. It didn’t hurt my hip but it probably didn’t help either.

      February 28, 2013
      • I think the stair climber is a little safer, the issue with the elliptical is that it forces your hip to move in an unnatural manner. Research has indicated hip issues in long-term users of elliptical machines.

        February 28, 2013
      • I had no idea…. thanks for sharing! Today I stuck with the bike and stair climber. I’m really crossing my fingers I can begin active recovery runs next week!

        February 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

