Skip to content

The Psoas

Today, using my expert medical training, I determined what has been plaguing me and causing my injuries. In my expert opinion, it’s a very tight psoas muscle (pronounced so-aZ).

After my workout at the gym, I came home and googled all the words I could think of describing my pain. That brought me to this article, a description of the psoas and muscle pain. I felt like every section in the article described exactly what I am feeling. Remind me why I spent two hours at the doctor on Wednesday?

This video explains the location of the psoas and the many areas of the lower back and hip that it can affect.

The best part about my recent diagnosis is while reading an article about runners and the psoas, I came across the name of a local massage therapist who has experience with this type of injury. I have an appointment on Monday.

It’s incredible how everything in the body is connected. A tight muscle in the back can lead to a tight hip, which then can affect the lower leg. I love trying to understand why I hurt.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: I really think if I keep improving at this rate, I’ll be running again in a week or so. This morning I went to the gym for some cardio and stretching. It was a cold and rainy day so I was okay with not running. On the downside, I woke up with a sore throat and now have a fever. My normal temperature is right at 96 degrees(I think I’m part reptile) and it was 99.3 today. February is NOT my month. I’m so thankful it’s the shortest month of the year. 🙂

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hope the massage therapist gets you heading even more in the right direction!
    Thinking of you continuing to work out through your injury helped motivate me to go out and run 6 miles wiht a girlfriend after having been off since the end of November.

    February 25, 2013
    • Awesome Regan!!! Kudos to you for getting out there and I’m happy I could provide a little motivation. Your race will be here before you know it!!

      The massage therapist was amazing! In addition to some intense work, he was able to offer a lot of insight into what is going on with my body when I run and how to correct certain issues. Very very helpful!!! If you ever need someone to help with running pain/issues, check this guy out. I can give you his info.

      February 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

