Skip to content

A Breakthrough

Yesterday my very wise G+ friend told me that perhaps one day I’ll look back at this race as my “breakthrough moment.” According to Google, the definition of breakthrough is “a significant and dramatic overcoming of a perceived obstacle, allowing the completion of a process.” In my heart and in my mind,  I think my very wise G+ friend is right.

My running is cyclical. Run a lot. Get injured. Bike a lot. Forgive me when I say I am fed up with this sh*t. Why can’t I just be consistent? I learned two very important things about myself this past training season. One, I learned how much I really do love running. It’s not something I do just so I can eat my turkey burger. I really do love it and I am completely addicted. The second thing I learned about myself is I am fast and I can be much faster. I know the runner I am and I know the runner I can be. I believe my goals are well within reach and one day I will surpass them.

As I’m dealing with this injury, I’m no longer mad and I’m no longer sad. Now I’m just determined. I realize that I may not be running for a month, and I’m okay with that. I’m okay with it because I want this time to really address my problems. I am reevaluating what I do, how I excel, and what my body needs that I’m not giving it. Maybe 50 miles a week is too much for me and I need to substitute a workout with cross training and strength training. Maybe my easy runs need to be about a minute slower. Or perhaps I need to do running drills every other day. I don’t know but I look at this as a complete breakdown and a chance to build myself back up. I’m not worried about losing fitness. I’m not worried about my next race. Right now, I really don’t care about those things. I care about realizing my full potential and giving my body what it needs in order to excel. I care about finding myself in this running world. I care about completing the process.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: I’m walking much better today. I went to the doctor and it went just as I expected. It could be this or it could be that. Come to PT twice a week and let’s see how it goes. I think I now remember why I never go to doctors.

And check out one of my race day photos:

I never take good racing pictures

I never take good racing pictures

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Have you heard of the “Run Less, Run Faster” training method? Basically you focus on running quality miles over quantity. You only run three times a week- speed work, a tempo run and a long run. Each of those runs is done at a specific pace based on your goal time. In between each run you cross train and/or rest. It’s great for people who are injury prone, because your body gets a chance to rest and recover in between each hard effort. It might be worth looking into! If you google “Run Less, Run Faster” you will see the book plus more information. Good luck!!!

    February 20, 2013
    • I will definitely look into this book. I actually use to run only three days a week. Mondays were cross training, Tuesdays were for speed work, Wednesdays were strength training, Thursdays were a midweek long run, Fridays off, and Saturdays were my long run. It did work for me but I just love being out on the road. I have to find that balance because I am definitely injury prone. Thanks for the recommendation!!!

      February 22, 2013
  2. It’s great that you’re able to look at your patterns and make changes. Perhaps that’s the point of injury; to force us to rethink so we can keep fit longer, rather than burning our bodies out.

    Hoping the PT and rest work

    February 21, 2013
    • I completely agree that this is helping me from burn out. Right now, I’m actually enjoying going to the gym. The mental break is also nice.
      My hip feel so much better with every passing day. It is really uplifting and keeps me hopeful. 😉 Thanks for the well wishes!!

      February 22, 2013
  3. Figuring out what works is really, really key to the long term. I’m glad you have made some really good realizations (you love to run, you know you can, and you are fast) and that you know that you need to adjust some things to continue to make it work. I’m running more days/ week than I have in a long time, but recovering better and running some slower, with more a definite focus on my runs.
    Glad to hear you’re feeling better.

    February 21, 2013
    • I’ve actually found a lot of peace with what is happening right now because I know it only makes me better in the long run. Finding what works best is how we find what we can truly accomplish. It even makes me excited when I think about it. 🙂

      I’m happy you are running more! I bet you are enjoying the miles. Maybe run a few for me? 😉

      February 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

