Skip to content

Gary Atlas

Runners are crazy. There is no doubt about that. We run really long distances at really early hours in the day, give ourselves blisters, chafe our thighs, experience something known as the “wall” and continue to run, and even eat gooey gel things so we can keep pounding the pavement. I’m happy to be part this special group of people. It’s nice being in such good company. Well today I learned just how crazy runners can be. I learned about Gary Atlas…

Gary Atlas is a resident of Coney Island and in September 2007, he was mentally suffering as he watched his mother dying of emphysema. To deal with his depression, he turned to running and swimming. Since that day back in 2007, he has never missed his 6 mile run followed by a dip in the ocean. He is close to a 2,000 day running streak. What makes Mr. Atlas even more interesting is the fact that he always runs shirtless, no matter how cold it is. It doesn’t matter if it’s 15 degrees, he likes to go “as raw as possible,” only using socks for gloves on rare occasions. (And I thought my 16 day running streak was impressive.)

Kudos to you, Mr. Atlas. Running means something different to all of us, and though I may not understand running shirtless in freezing temperatures, I definitely respect it. Like I said, runners are a crazy group of people but (in my humble opinion), we are all freakin’ awesome.

Check out this awesome/crazy runner!

Check out this awesome/crazy runner!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Recovery Update: I am so much better than Sunday. I’m walking a little better and the pain isn’t as bad. Today I went to the gym for an upper body workout and abs. I actually think it really helped. And being in that environment, mentally helped me deal with my no running sadness. There is something about gym clothes, Eminem, and a little sweat that really lifts my spirits. It makes me feel a little more normal. Tomorrow I go to the doctor.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Inspirational stuff hey. Thanks for sharing the story and video.

    February 19, 2013
    • Absolutely! I’ll never complain about 20 degree runs ever again 😉

      February 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

