Skip to content

Road to Recovery

I can not do much about the fact that I have injured myself. The 13.1 miles have come and gone and I have been left in this not very fun condition. Life happens. As I said yesterday, I do not want to hurt anymore. February has not been my month and I will make March a different story. Therefore, I am going to do all I possibly can to get better, faster. Today I spent some time reading about things I can do to speed up the recovery process, and I think I have a plan. Here it is:

First, I will continue to use the crutches until I can walk a little easier. From yesterday to today, I can tell that not putting pressure on my leg is really helping. Second, I will ice 3 -4 times a day, including at 5:00 am, right after my shower. I am cutting out all sugar and alcohol. They both can cause inflammation, and that’s not going to help me. As far as my diet is concerned, I am sticking to mainly alkaline, anti-inflammatory foods. Lots of green leafy veggies, pineapple, salmon, chia seeds, high quality protein, sweet potatoes, carrots, walnuts, and berries. In a day or two, I will start an intense ab routine (only with exercises that do not bother my hip), and do it every single afternoon. As the pain starts to subside, I will also start a daily yoga routine (thank you in advance Tara Stiles). Once my hip has more range of motion and less pain, I will start cycling. I’ve cross trained for so long on a bike, I don’t think it will be that bad. In addition to the abs, yoga, and cycling, I will include an upper body strength routine 1-2 times per week. I will also sleep more.

Eventually the pain will be gone, I’ll have nice buff arms and I will be out there for my first 20 mile run in no time. I’m joking. Maybe just a 5 miler :).

To summarize, I will be very disciplined. I have to be. My eating will be very clean, I will get lots of rest, and I will improve my strength. Ice and heat will be my friend and I will treat my hip with kindness. Even if it does hurt like a you know what right now, it did help me get a PR. I guess I’m not ready for a hip replacement yet.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

And here is a little video my uncle made post race. What the heck is going on with my hair and why do we always sound so different on a video?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Sounds like you have a good, solid plan. I am sure you’ll be back out there in no time – feelin’ like your old self.

    February 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

