Skip to content

Myrtle Beach Half Quick Update

I made it across the finish line. It wasn’t in the time I wanted but I really started to hurt at mile 6. Official time is 1:33:38, a 7:09 average pace. I was able to run around 6:50/mile for the first half but then I started to slow quite a bit.

A beautiful course and I’m happy I made it to the start (and finish) line. Mario ran a PR, Emily ran an awesome race and her husband Tyler also ran a PR. A great time with friends!!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

(The second pic is with my local running hero, Kelcey Carlson)

20130216-134655.jpg

20130216-134709.jpg

20130216-134735.jpg

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. TMT #

    So proud of all of you!!

    February 16, 2013
  2. buckleymarks #

    Every performance must be judged in the .context of the conditions you confront on race day. Given what you’ve been dealing with, that’s a great finishing time, and you should be proud. Think of the big picture, and how much you’ve grown as a runner in recent months. That’s the stuff that really matters.

    (Oh, and we still miss you on Google+)

    -Mark

    February 16, 2013
    • Thank you Mark!! I miss y’all too and have been doing such a bad job of being involved with my favorite G+ friends. The running kind of took over my life after the marathon and I neglected my running community. Since the race has come and gone, I’m going to be better about it!!

      I am proud of the time but I am in A LOT of pain now. I’ll be doing a lot of rehab in the coming weeks. One day I’ll get the running thing figured out 🙂

      I hope all is well!!!!

      February 17, 2013
  3. Congratulations! Great race and awesome time for being injured. I know you’ll get it next time! I also loved this race. I ran a 1:51:38, less than 3 minutes from my PR but I was happy with that time being 5 months post partum 🙂

    February 16, 2013
    • Thanks Katie!! That is an amazing time! You are my inspiration for whenever I have kids 🙂

      I’m actually in a lot of pain today and am walking around on crutches. 😦 Considering the conditions, I’m happy with my time. But the pain is a little much. Oh well, guess I’ll be doing some intense rehab.

      February 17, 2013
  4. Colin DeWaay #

    Wow coming that close to your goal while hurt is pretty freakin impressive!

    February 17, 2013
    • Thanks! However I’m not sure the hip pain today was worth the PR. I’m walking around on crutches!!

      February 17, 2013
      • Colin DeWaay #

        No good, make sure you get that thing totally healed up before you push it again!

        February 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

