Skip to content

Failure

I’ve always been afraid of failure. It hurts, it sucks, and I can’t stand the thought of someone judging me because I didn’t do what I set out to do. Last April, I set out to run the Boston Marathon. I failed. This past November I started training to run a sub 1:30 half marathon. Two weeks of missed training and sickness have brought me to the conclusion that I will also fail at that tomorrow. But through these “failures,” I have learned that I will be okay. And even more so, I have learned that I am a fast runner. When it’s my time to do so, I will run sub 1:30 and I will run a sub 3:15 for the full. I’m learning, I’m making mistakes, and I now know that I don’t care if people judge me for my failures. At least I tried.

This Michael Jordan video inspires me:

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Well tomorrow is race day. I had a dream last night that I didn’t run because of my leg. It’s still bothering me. It still hurts. I think I’ll make my decision on whether or not to cross that start line tomorrow morning at 4:30am.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m glad you are realizing you are a fast runner. Smokin’ fast! A 1:30 and 3:15 are certainly within your grasp. It’s not the running that is the issue. It’s injuries and mental challenges and timing to have other factors in place. YOU can do it.
    Have fun tomorrow if you decide to go. Leave your watch at home. 😉
    (PS I never could leave my Garmin at home, but you know what I mean).

    February 15, 2013
    • Thanks Tania! While I was out there I was thinking, I really should have left the watch at home. It was mentally stressing me out. But I made it across the finish line, 1:33:37. My hip really started hurting at mile 6. I’m struggling to walk right now 🙂

      February 16, 2013
      • Ah, Tracie. Good for you for getting out and getting it done, if that’s what you needed today. 1:33 is amazing!!! Really!! (Imagine what you could do with a healthy hip and no watch?!!)

        Do take care of yourself, your work is done for today. Ice, foam roller, and some yam fries!
        Big hugs to you. Again, such an inspiration!

        February 16, 2013
      • Oh I’m icing, resting, eating anti-inflammatory foods, and using crutches. I hurt a lot but I’m doing what I can. If my hip had been in better condition, I know I could have come a lot closer to 1:30. Oh well, one day I’ll get it figured out.
        I hope you had a great weekend!

        February 17, 2013
      • Holy moly girl. Crutches?! You are something hard core. So now you have proven to yourself you can also probably run under 1:35 on one leg.
        Take care of yourself.

        February 18, 2013
  2. That’s a fantastic clip.

    February 15, 2013
    • Agreed! I make a point to show it to my students every year.

      February 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

