Skip to content

The History of Diets

Oh diets… always changing, always evolving, and always something new to try. CNN recently published this article about diets throughout history. There are two things I took away from this article. First, diets have been around for a long time. And second, there have always been crazy diet trends.

In my opinion, some of the more interesting trends mentioned in the article, dating all the way back to 1820s, are the vinegar and water diet, the tapeworm diet (which involved swallowing a parasite packed pill), the Sleeping Beauty Diet, the cookie diet, and Beyoncé’s Master Cleanse Diet – hot water, lemon juice, cayenne pepper, and maple syrup. You can read the complete article here.

If I had to venture a guess, I’d say some of the crazier diets, such as the tapeworm diet, were not sustainable. Something tells me the side effects of swallowing a parasite would be much worse than a few extra pounds. And the Sleeping Beauty Diet? Well I guess that explains why Aurora was so thin. Either way, no matter how many extra pounds I may put on in life, I’m not swallowing a parasite,  being sedated for days at a time, or drinking water and vinegar. I think I’ll just go outside and run. It just seems a little more practical.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Last night I may have slept 2 hours. I pretty much expect to see a six pack tomorrow due to the fact my abs are so sore from all the coughing. I didn’t go to work and slept another 4 hours this morning. On the plus side, after my kombucha and a visit to Dr. Molly (my chiropractor), I feel so much better! I’m even expecting to get a run in tomorrow (fingers crossed). Dr. Molly put me through some intense Active Repelase Therapy which was no fun for my sore abs. And I got my bib number today, #5384, so that got me excited for Saturday, no matter what happens.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Good luck with the race.
    I think I picked up a cold after shoveling all day Saturday and running Sunday morning.

    February 11, 2013

Leave a Reply

