Skip to content

Krispy Kreme Challenge

This morning I had the pleasure of watching 8,000 runners run to the local Krispy Kreme, eat 12 donuts, and run back… all from my living room window. Today marked the 9th annual Krispy Kreme Challenge and I much prefer to be a spectator for this event. I have never once desired to participate in the challenge. However, a few of my crazy friends are brave enough to stomach the challenge. I guess some people really like donuts.

Raleigh, NC is home to the original Krispy Kreme Challenge. The challenge involves running 2.5 miles from NC State’s campus to Krispy Kreme, eating 12 donuts, and then running 2.5 miles back. In other words, 5 miles, 2,400 calories and all under 1 hour. Crazy!

The challenge started back in 2004 as a dare between a few college students. Only a dozen people showed up to the first race but it has since grown into an event with 8,000 participants. The proceeds from the race go to benefit the North Carolina’s Children Hospital and as of this year, close to $500,000 has been donated. The winner this year, Tim Ryan, completed the race in 31:31. That’s an average pace of 6:18.mile, not including eating the 12 donuts. The female winner completed the challenge in 37:42, which averages out to 7:32/mile (again, not including eating the donuts). I just don’t know how they do it.

Back in 2009, a reporter from ESPN did a story on the race, while actually completing the challenge himself. Check out just how crazy the people in Raleigh, NC can be:

 

Congrats to all the runners this morning! You have a stronger stomach than I do!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: This morning I woke up with a slight fever and have since developed a pretty bad cough. You know how life goes up and down and up and down? I’m definitely at one of the low points. Therefore, I watched Hakuna Matata from the Lion King to cheer me up tonight. 🙂

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Martha Merrill Wills #

    I was heading to yoga as the race was winding down. I heard about crazy puking students, but only saw some funny girls in furry pink leg warmers. It looked like fun… I might do it next year!

    February 10, 2013
    • It definitely looks like fun and I think I’ll just take everyone’s word for it. The thought of that many donuts just seems crazy to me AND on top of that, you have to run 5 miles. There is a category for recreational runners so maybe I could do that… You’ll have to let me know if you sign up next year 🙂

      February 11, 2013
      • Martha Merrill Wills #

        I will!

        February 11, 2013

Leave a Reply

