Skip to content

Injury

There is little to comfort me during my time as an injured runner. I can’t eat sweet potato fries because I feel guilty and I can’t enjoy my Saturday turkey burger because I don’t feel like I deserve it. I really do struggle.

However, my RC did offer me some words of comfort earlier this week. I asked him why couldn’t I be one of those people who runs all the time and never gets injured? Why can’t I be so lucky? His response to me: Every runner gets injured. Every runner pushes him or herself and at some point, it’s just a little too far.

There is a very thin line between just right and just a little too much. As you try to discover who you are as a runner, you are going to cross over it. I started thinking about it and I realized, all of those people who I think can run all the time, they get injured too. A few bloggers I follow who run 80+ miles a week have their own set of injuries. A runner friend from back home who was running every day for who knows how long, he gets injured. And I’m pretty sure Ryan Hall dropped out of the Olympic Marathon because he was injured.

Bottom line: we are all human, life happens, and let’s not forget why we started this in the first place. Life can’t always he hundreds of happy miles.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I was debating on going out today but my hip joint hurts and I’ve been sneezing like a crazy person. I’ll enjoy my glass of wine with Mario instead. 🙂

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. It’s so true about us all pushing ourselves just that bit too far. I totally hear you on that one. I’m glad you decided to rest instead of pushing through the injury because it’s going to be better in the long run to let it heal 🙂

    February 9, 2013
  2. Colin DeWaay #

    Yes every athlete will get hurt. It’s just important to make sure you get healed up before trying to get out there again!

    February 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

