Skip to content

Whole Foods Eating

I’m one of those people who really believes in everything I do and I’ll probably do my best to convince you to do the same. Throughout the years, I’ve gone through some interesting phases. During my time as a vegetarian, I showed my sister one too many PETA videos and convinced her to go veg with me. However, after a month she gave in to a Wendy’s bacon cheeseburger. I eventually forgave her. 😉

I believe in whole foods eating. Any opportunity I see to promote the idea, I do it. (I’m a little more tactful now with my approaches.) However, I’m often met with the response everything will give me cancer or Doritos just taste so good or healthy food tastes so bad. Those comments literally make me want to hit my head against the wall. Granted, as a young teenager I ate crappy food all the time. McDonalds, Wendy’s , Bojangles, you name it. But that was because I didn’t know any better. I thought that was the norm. 

How can I get people on the whole foods eating bandwagon with me? Well I found this beautifully written article by Rachel and how clean eating not only saved her from cancer, but changed the lives of everyone in her family.

Rachel:

All my life I poked fun and laughed at “crunchy” people. I thought natural food stores were weird and smelled funny. 🙂 I would see the headlines everyday, about the “latest this or that, that may cause cancer” and think well, is there anything that doesn’t? Do I just quit enjoying life because I “may” get cancer?

Well, after having had it and been treated for it, I felt it was time to open my mind a bit and see if there was anything to this natural living thing. Honestly, I don’t remember exactly where or how it began. I believe I was just finishing up radiation therapy when I decided to drive over to the local Whole Foods Market and explore…

You can read the entire article here. To sum it up, Rachel  has a much healthier life, is cancer free ,and her mom is now able to travel, move, and actually enjoy life. Kudos to Rachel and her family.

What are your thoughts on whole foods eating?

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Oh running how I’ve missed thee. After lots of stretching and praying to the Running Gods, I was able to get a speedy 6 miles. I did have to make an effort to focus on my pelvis and hip alignment  but aerobically, I felt amazing. I ran 6 miles in 43:53. Stats are here.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. I think that there is a lot to be said for whole foods eating and the benefits of it. It wasn’t until about a year ago that I started making the transition, slowly, but I made it. I now know how good whole food makes me feel, especially once you start working out or training. I couldn’t imagine having a fast food burger and trying to go for a successful run the next day! I still have my days that I crave junk food, but can usually resist it. I’m also of the 80/20 mindset and find that even my 20 isn’t as bad as it used to be!

    p.s. I nominated you for a Liebster Award over on my blog post yesterday. I always enjoy your posts and have learned a lot too!

    February 4, 2013
    • Thank you so much Adrienne for the blog nomination! I’m always happy to spread some running/health knowledge in hopes that it helps other people.

      I’m with you on the 80/20 rule. I dream of my Saturday turkey burger followed by a delicious IPA beer. It’s what motivates me to wake up at 5:30am for my long runs. However, the rest of the time, I’m drinking green smoothies and eating veggie salads. I just feel so good when I eat like that and it gives me so much energy. I have a hard time understanding why other people wouldn’t want that too? As a friend said to me the other day: Give your body good, and you get good. Couldn’t agree more!

      February 4, 2013
  2. MikeW #

    That fruit photo is the spectrum!

    February 4, 2013
  3. Those are some fast miles! It must be the whole foods you consume that keeps you speedy. 🙂 Sounds like the hip is starting to cooperate. Keep working on it.

    February 4, 2013
    • I completely believe that the food I eat is what helps me to run fast. I use to be A LOT slower but chia seeds, kale, spinach, and fruit every day (with the occasional sweet potato fries) add a little bounce in my step. And yes, the hip is starting to do it’s thing. It’s been doing a lot of popping and cracking but I think it’s just getting back to a normal position. 🙂 Happy Monday Tania!!!

      February 4, 2013
      • How much slower is a LOT slower? 😉 I’m on day 3 of no running. Stomach flu is no fun.

        February 5, 2013
      • 3-4 minutes slower per mile. I just looked up my first half marathon and I did it in 2:14. I am still proud of that race but my approach to health was very different back then. I really think a different approach to food has helped me a lot.

        Stomach flu? Boo!!!! That is no fun 😦 Sending healthy, get well vibes your way!!!

        February 5, 2013
      • Woah. So although I have been running fewer years and already have years on you… there is hope? 😉 Of course, I think just by doing (and exerting effort) you get faster, but diet certainly does have a lot to do with it. If you think of food as fuel, it makes a lot of sense. Unfortunately I already eat pretty well so I’ll have to find a different elixir to add speed to my miles.
        You’ve come a long way. You should be pleased!
        Thanks for the good vibes. I think I’m on the upswing now.

        February 5, 2013
  4. I’m all for it- this paleo diet I’m on is supposed to be about getting back to nature and only eating fresh, minimally processed foods…. I feel better for it mainly.

    February 4, 2013
    • Minimally processed food is key (at least in my opinion.) Have you read the Paleo Diet for Athletes? I learned so much from that book especially about what to eat when. How is the meditation?

      February 5, 2013
  5. Colin DeWaay #

    I think what bugs me more than anything is the snarky response of “I’ll deal with cancer if I get it” or “I don’t care if it does give me cancer I just love ____” Yeah I’m sure you’ll care if you get it. I’d never wish it on anyone and anyone COULD get it regardless but shouldn’t we do everything we can to give ourselves the best chance to be healthy and live?

    February 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

