Skip to content

Duck Eggs

Mario’s boss owns a farm, a big farm. He use to sell chicken eggs but has since switched to selling duck eggs. This morning Mario woke up at the lovely hour of 4:45am with me so he made breakfast before I left for work. What did we have for breakfast? Duck eggs!

I had never eaten duck eggs until this morning and I wasn’t sure I was going to like them. They were much bigger than chicken eggs and for me, the taste was a little off. However, it was a yummy breakfast and I was curious to learn more about duck eggs…

First, don’t eat more than one duck egg at a time. It has more than the amount of cholesterol you should consume in a day. I had two. Opps! Second, because they are bigger, duck eggs have more nutritional value (and more calories) than chicken eggs. One duck egg has about 130 calories and over half of the amount of Vitamin B12 you need in a day. Perhaps my two favorite facts about ducks eggs are they are extremely high in omega 3 (American diets are deficient in omega 3 fatty acids and too high in omega 6 fatty acids) and they are a highly alkaline food (chicken eggs are acidic). Some suggest alkaline diets might slow bone loss and muscle waste, increase growth hormone, and make certain chronic diseases less likely. And omega 3 fatty acids have been shown to lower triglycerides and decrease inflammation in the body.

I am going to try duck eggs again tomorrow, but this time only one. The idea of eating duck eggs still seems weird to me but apparently people in Asia eat them every day as well as people in Europe. Oh how I love learning new things.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I have a confession to make…. I am completely, wholeheartedly, without a doubt addicted to running. Even the thought of not being able to run, makes me depressed. All day today I was thinking my leg was going to keep me from running and I felt miserable. It was a beautiful 75 degrees here in NC and that made it even worse. My leg was still feeling off so after a few jogs up and down the hallway I emailed my coach. To do our track workout or not to do our track workout? We decided to push it back a day and I could do an easy run if I wanted to. I asked about cross training and he said nope, just try an easy run. After some serious work on my IT band and piriformis, I headed outside. I am so thankful I decided to not cross train and do an easy run instead. It was fabulous! Even though my leg still feels sore, it was an easy 6.4 miles. I focused mainly on relaxing my feet, not tensing my shoulders, and engaging the left side of my body. I even switched arms of my Garmin and #TeemHogan bracelet (in memory of my student who passed away in December). It’s crazy what a difference that made! The pace felt super easy and it was a confidence booster for my track workout tomorrow. Stats are here.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Great to hear about your awareness of your body during running! I’ve been working on being in the moment and enjoying my surroudings.

    January 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

