Skip to content

Brominated Vegetable Oil

For all of you who drink Gatorade, y ou might be interested to know that PepsiCo is removing the controversial ingredient brominted vegetable oil from some of their Gatorade drinks. Why you may ask? Well because the ingredient is patented as a flame retardant. Yummy. The ingredient is said to be linked to neurological disorders and is actually banned in the EU and Japan.

Stephanie Storm, The New York Times:

Brominated vegetable oil is banned as a food ingredient in Japan and the European Union. About 10 percent of drinks sold in the United States contain it, including Mountain Dew, which is also made by PepsiCo; some flavors of Powerade and Fresca from Coca-Cola; and Squirt and Sunkist Peach Soda, made by the Dr Pepper Snapple Group. PepsiCo said it had no plans to remove the ingredient from Mountain Dew and Diet Mountain Dew, both of which generate more than $1 billion in annual sales.

I spent some time looking through the ingredients labels of the many different flavors of Gatorade. I only saw B.V.O. in the Orange flavor. I haven’t bought Gatorade in a long time but kudos to them for taking out the ingredient. However, my next question is when are they going to remove red 40 and yellow 5? I think beet juice and turmeric would be a good replacement. 🙂

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Since I ran 21 miles yesterday and I woke up feeling pretty run down this morning, I only did weights and a little cardio at the gym this afternoon. Originally, I wasn’t going to do any cardio but then I saw there is now a stair climber beside the treadmills. I absolutely love the stair climber for some reason. Not one of those little crappy ones but the big ones with the rotating steps. I couldn’t resist and had to jump on. Then when somebody got on the one beside me, I had to up the level x10. I couldn’t help it 😉  It really is one of my favorite cardio machines.

 

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Level 10 because someone’s watching? You are funny, predictable, and definitely a runner!

    January 28, 2013
    • 😉 Thanks Tania! I couldn’t help it – I just had to go faster.

      January 29, 2013
  2. That’s effing scary

    January 29, 2013
    • I know!!! How that even makes it on the grocery store shelf is beyond me.

      January 29, 2013
  3. I always wondered why that stuff tasted so nastey!

    January 30, 2013
  4. That’s just plain disgusting! So, Gatorade/G2 has been removed from my running liquids. Water is probably better in the long run anyway.

    January 30, 2013
    • Anything is better than flame retardant 🙂 Do you ever drink coconut water?

      January 31, 2013
      • I can’t seem to get into Coconut Water. It is so bitter to me! Do you have a brand you prefer?

        February 4, 2013
      • I completely agree about the bitterness. Coconut water with pineapple tastes soooo much better! And I don’t really have a brand preference. Just whatever Trader Joe’s carries. I’m a huge fan of Endurox for recovery. That stuff is delicious and a lot of runners swear by it. It is made by the same company who makes Accelerade. Any of the Vega sports drinks are also delicious. I think anything is better than brominated vegetable oil 🙂 Happy Monday!

        February 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

