Skip to content

In the Long Run

Seth Godin certainly doesn’t write about running. However, I love reading his blogs. They are short, insightful, and well written. His blog post today, The Long Run Keeps Getting Shorter, was particularly interesting to me. Here it is:

Seth Godin:

In the long run, we’re all dead, sure that’s still true.

But the other long run effects–in the long run, you get caught, in the long run, kindness wins out, in the long run, we learn about who you really are–all of those are happening faster than they used to.

The short run has always been short (and it’s getting shorter still). The real change, though, is how short the long run is getting.

My favorite part, “…in the long run, we learn about who you really are…”. Whether talking about life or 20 miles on the trails, I find this line to be very true. I always finish a long run feeling slightly wiser than when I started.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today I did something that I haven’t done in in forever – I slept in until 7:30am! The roads were super icy so I knew I was going to have to run tomorrow. However, the sun came out this afternoon and melted everything away. I got in an easy 3 miles. My splits were 8:01, 7:49, and 7:13. (Stats are here.) I’m definitely feeling more aerobically fit and hope I can stay this way for race day. Tomorrow will be my 20 miler. As always, I’m looking forward to it!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. That’s a great blog post/recommendation.
    As always, your motivation is inspiring. Keep it up, girl.

    January 27, 2013
    • Thanks chica 🙂 I hope you’re having a fabulous Monday!!

      January 28, 2013
      • Achilles is feeling better. High five!

        January 28, 2013
      • Yay!!! I know that makes you happy 🙂 And the plantar fascia?

        January 29, 2013
      • The PF comes and goes. I need to keep on the exercises to make sure it keeps getting better. Easy to get complacent when it doesn’t hurt. 😉

        January 31, 2013

Leave a Reply

