Skip to content

The Coldest (Half) Marathon

Raleigh, NC is experiencing a wintery mix this afternoon and it’s about to drive me crazy! Maybe I should be enjoying the fact that I’m confined to my warm pajamas here on the couch.  However, my scheduled 20 mile run tomorrow morning is really the only thing on my mind. Will the ice be melted? Will I be able to drive out to my favorite trail? Will I slip and twist my ankle? This ice is really getting in the way of my plans.

In honor of the crappy weather, I decided to find the coldest marathon on record. Well it’s actually a half marathon and about 70 degrees colder that NC right now. Yes, 70 degrees colder!

The coldest half marathon took place on January 6, 2001 in Omsk, Siberia. The temperature was negative 39 degrees Celsius and out of the 134 people who started the race, 13 finished. Last January was actually the warmest year for the event, with a toasty temperature of negative 4 degrees Celsius. Check out some of these photos from this year’s race…

Siberia 1

Siberia2

Siberia3

Siberia4

 

 

I will no longer complain about my 25 degree morning runs. And if I choose to push my run to Sunday, it’ll be because the ice is too dangerous for driving (and running). Not because it’s too cold.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Yesterday I was thinking how lucky I have been to not get sick during this training season. Normally I’ve had at least one really bad cold by now. And I was also thinking that even though my leg has been bothering me, it hasn’t sidelined me completely. I’m taking this as a sign. This was was an easy week, with a back down in mileage. Due to the fact that it is sleeting, I don’t like running on treadmills, and my leg is still not 100%, I decided to stretch instead of my planned easy 3 mile run. This is very uncharacteristic of me but I truly believe my body is saying let’s take a breather so you can be ready to kick butt on February 16th. It’s been a nice mental break as well.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. And here I was complaining on my blog today about MIGHT having to run in the rain…good luck! You’ll do great! Once your body gets warmed up you’ll be golden! 🙂

    January 25, 2013
    • I know, this totally changes your perspective on running in bad weather. I ended up moving my run to tomorrow because the roads were still super icy this morning. Luckily the sun came out and melted most of everything so I should be good to go tomorrow.

      January 26, 2013
  2. That is Cold!
    Good job taking a break. You are training your mind as well as your body. It’s great to have a fresh mental state to keep you going when the legs get tired.

    January 25, 2013
  3. -39’C!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s insane for a race, let alone just a daily temperature (coming from this Canadian).

    Well done to you for listening to your body 🙂

    January 26, 2013

Leave a Reply

