Skip to content

The Left/Right Balance

Running is a whole body experience and injuries can often come from bad biomechanics (at least that’s how I think). I get injured on my left side because my left side is weaker. I know this. I do not do enough to prevent it but at least I understand what’s going on in my body.

As I’ve mentioned, I’m teetering on ending up on the injury list. However, I’m not there yet and in fact have had some decent workouts. I contribute that to two things. First, I’ve switched to using my left hand for everything I can. It has made everything take twice as long and my makeup in the morning has been a diaster. (Putting eye liner on with your left hand is like trying to write with your left hand. Really freakin’ hard.) But it is causing me to become much more aware of my left side. Today while running, I only focused on my left arm swing. What a difference it made! 

The second thing that has helped me is the following video…

 

 

Why did I not come across this video earlier in my life? I’ve actually taken my theraband to work and done a few exercises when no one was looking 🙂 . This is an awesome routine and I highly recommend it!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: My Garmin is being really annoying and not uploading my run from today. But I had an easy six miles. My stride definitely feels like it’s back to the way it should be. However, the muscles and tendons in my leg feel sore, not super painful, just sore. I ran 6.12 miles with an average pace of 7:48/mile. My splits were 8:23, 7:53, 7:57, 7:35, 7:30, and 7:24. It’s amazing how much more aerobically fit I feel. Maybe the wheatgrass shot I had earlier today helped a little too.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great video. My PT gave me some of those exercises to do. I can feel the burn just watching this guy!
    My Garmin gives me all kinds of problems. Mine is about 2 years old and last week the wrist band broke. It still works, but not it is more of a pocket watch. ;(

    January 23, 2013
    • Glad you like the video! The side walk he does with the band really makes my IT band burn but it’s awesome! My goal is to do at least some of these exercises every day. For some reason I always make the time for running but not for preventive exercises… I must work on that.

      Yea, the Garmin can be tricky sometimes. I had some fancy one last year but it was always breaking. I went back to the 210 and it’s worked fine but sometimes it won’t upload to the computer.

      Happy Running!

      January 24, 2013
  2. Richard #

    This is the youtube video I found early on in my training. I lost the link to it and had tried endlessly to locate it again as I thought it was very valuable. But trying to find a site link again on the internet after failing to bookmark it can be very painful – thank you for finding it again!

    January 24, 2013
    • Yay! I’m so glad I could help you find it. It is definitely an awesome video and I can already tell a difference in my IT band. 🙂 Happy running!

      January 24, 2013
  3. I’ve been dealing with right side hip and heel pains since May of last year. After MANY appointments with two physio therapists and an osteopath, things are finally starting to improve. Someone over Twitter, after reading about my injury issues in my blog, suggested that my issues could also be TMS (Tension Myositis Syndrome), which is ‘physical pain as a direct result of emotional factors.’ At first, I was doubtful, but after four months of physio and a baffled physio therapist, I’m starting to be a believer. I’ve also taken up a type of yoga meant to balance the chakras, and as you go through the poses, you learn which chakras are in charge of what emotions; the chakras in the hips and pelvis, my problem areas, are responsible for certain emotions and issues that apply to me. The more physio and osteopathy I’ve done without any firm diagnosis, the more I’m beginning to think that my emotions and mental wellbeing play a huge role in this pain. I don’t want to say any more because I plan to write a post on this, hopefully this weekend!

    I’m not saying this is you, but it’s an alternative way to think about pain and your approaches to healing it. You need to go in with an open mind.

    January 24, 2013
    • That is so interesting and I will be waiting for your post about this. I definitely believe in the mind-body connection. Currently, I do not know much about the chakras but am curious in learning more, especially if it can help with the injuries 🙂 . I am working on a meditation challenge this month and I’ve realized how much tension I carry around in my body. To be a runner, you really have to focus on the entire body, and I believe that includes mind and spirituality as well Thanks for sharing and I look forward to reading your post!
      Tracie

      January 25, 2013
      • The post is written and published!

        January 28, 2013
      • Loved the post!!! I did some more reading on the chakras today and learned a lot. I also thought about you when I was running today… I’ve been kind of stressed with work things and I know it is making me tense up when I run. Today I focused on really relaxing my feet and body. I know it helped me A LOT and made the run much more enjoyable. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

        January 29, 2013
  4. Thanks, I’m quite proud of it. Being a teacher is tough sometimes, we load so much on our daily plates! Hope things get better soon 🙂

    January 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

