Skip to content

Clean Eating

There is no specific definition of what is clean eating. Generally speaking, I consider myself to be a pretty clean eater. In any given day, the worse thing I eat (other than a glass of wine and a piece of chocolate) is a handful of plantain chips. (My sweet potato chip habit has been traded.) However, this year I want to focus on really clean eating. I’m a firm believer that food is fuel and that it is also medicine, which heals the body from the inside out.

Why do I want a cleaner diet? First, I want energy and lots of it! Caffeine energy is not the same as an overall feeling of oh my gosh, I feel amazing and can do any and everything. That’s the feeling I want. Whenever I’m on my green smoothie kick, my mornings are so productive, it’s unbelievable. And as a runner, that extra energy can go a long way. The second reason I want a cleaner diet is because I want better gut health. Maybe I’ve listened to a few too many Ben Greenfield podcasts, but it seems gut health is a pretty important part of your overall health. Did you know about 80% of your immune system is in your gastrointestinal tract? Here’s a podcast with Mr. Greenfield himself discussing how gut health can also affect endurance performance. Like I said, it seems pretty important. And the third reason I want a cleaner diet is because I want to be kind to my body. My body has carried me through a lot and I believe in order to do its best, it needs the right fuel. I’ve been reading a lot about how the body will always try to maintain a state of homeostasis. By eating cleaner, I am helping that.

I’ve been researching recipes for clean eating and came across this website. So far, I’ve tried two recipes and they were quite tasty. Another one of my favorites is Oh She Glows. Her stuff is pretty awesome as well.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was a rest day and I actually took the day off! No gym. No running. Nothing. It was nice.

Chicken, veggies, and endives

Chicken, veggies, and endives

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Colin DeWaay #

    I generally describe “clean eating” as eating whole foods you find in nature. Not processed or refined.

    January 20, 2013
    • I completely agree with your definition. I just wish plantain chips grew on a tree 😉

      January 22, 2013
      • Colin DeWaay #

        LOL!!!

        January 22, 2013
  2. There is no better feeling than how you feel eating clean! I follow a lot of Paleo recipes too

    January 22, 2013
    • Yes! Clean eating really does change the way you feel. Paleo has some awesome recipes. I’ve cut practically all wheat out of my diet and I don’t get those afternoon slumps at all. And since I’ve cut so much of it out, I realized how it is in practically everything! Crazy!

      Happy almost Friday!!!!!!
      Tracie

      January 24, 2013
  3. KAlex #

    You should research Tosca Reno and The Eat-Clean Diet. She is the creator and founder of Eating Clean. She has a 16 book series called The Eat-Clean Diet including a number of amazing cookbooks. The food is delicious and her story is super inspirational!! Thank you for your post.

    January 28, 2013
    • I will definitely add this to my reading list. And I’m all about some new recipes. 🙂 Thank you for the suggestion! Have a fabulous week!!!

      January 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

