Skip to content

The Professionals and Sleep

Sleep is essential. It allows the body to repair itself and helps improve our brain’s ability to function. The average American gets 6.44 hours of sleep, which puts me in the category of being average. My local running hero, news anchor Kelcey Carlson (who also has 2 kids), gets around 4 1/2 hours and still manages to run sub 3:15 marathons. (Some people are just wired differently.) But the elites, they are in a completely different sleeping category…

I found this infographic that describes how much sleep some of the top athletes get during a day. Lebron James and Roger Federer spend literally half of their day in bed. I imagine the other half is spent training and eating. Yes, most of us do not have the luxury of sleeping 10-12 hours a day but I think 7-8 would be an improvement. Maybe that’s why I haven’t made it to the Olympics yet. πŸ˜‰

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update:Β Today was an easy 6 miler. I ran a different route and incorporated a few more hills. I also had to go sans music because I desperately needed some quiet time. Nothing super excited but here are my stats. Tomorrow is my longest track workout to date.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good reminder. Sleep is often an underrated part of training and I think it’s as important as nutrition.

    January 14, 2013
    • I couldn’t agree more! I can always tell when my body needs sleep. I am much more prone to getting sick if I don’t get enough rest. Normally I only get around 6.5 hours of sleep but during heavy training, I’d love to get 7.5 – 8. One day I’ll get there πŸ™‚

      January 16, 2013
  2. Sleep is also when your body repairs itself, and many elite marathoners have a nap every day between their morning training and afternoon training. I think it’s a very important aspect to training, one that often seems overlooked.

    January 15, 2013
    • I completely agree! If I don’t pay careful attention to my sleep, I’ll get very sick during a training season. I think my body is starting to need a little more because I’ve noticed that I’ve been falling asleep very easily just sitting in a chair. Opps!

      January 16, 2013
      • And have you ever noticed how after a race, you feel totally drained and need to sleep? I thought it was just me, but once I mentioned it on my blog, a bunch of other runners commented that they needed naps post-race too.

        January 19, 2013
  3. I often sleep on Saturday afternoons so am glad to read it’s not laziness but good for training πŸ™‚

    January 15, 2013
    • I swear by a good nap after a long run. It’s part of the ritual πŸ™‚

      January 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

