Skip to content

Running: An Individual Sport

Running is an individual sport. That’s why I’m a runner. Anything that involves working with other people… well, I’m kind of bad at that. Just ask my family. As a child, anything from Monopoly to playing frisbee – I didn’t work well with other people. Whether it was playing on their team or playing against someone, I needed something that happened on my own terms in my own time. That still holds true today.

Before my long run this morning, I had done two speed workouts and run 32 miles within the past five days. My husband had zero miles on his legs but was incorporating intervals into our long run this morning. As he started to pull away from me, I got anxious and somewhat mad. Why did he get to go faster? Why did he get to leave me behind? Maybe I’ll just keep up. I know I can.

I immediately summoned my emergency one minute mediation. Tracie, reign it in.

To be a runner is to be disciplined. It is to work hard when you need to and go easy when you might not want to. For me, the slower days are the hardest days. When you know how fast you can go, to go any slower can be a challenge. But it’s about perspective, and remembering the fact that you are only competing with yourself. My goal is not to run an amazing 15 miles on a random Saturday morning. My goal is to run a 3:15 marathon on March 17th. Running happens on my own terms and that’s why I do it.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: My most sluggish run to date since I started training for my two races. The pace felt fine but my legs were a little on the heavy side. I attribute that to the fact I did not have my sweet potato last night. 🙂 15 miles with an average pace of 8:03. Stats are here.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I’ve been getting my mediation on too – I found a book on mediation and running too

    January 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

