Skip to content

Overtraining

I found this interesting…

According to this short video by Ben Greenfield, about 95% of people train too much and toxify their bodies.

Currently BG’s training schedule includes lifting 3 days a week, short (but intense) mountain bike rides, a 20-30 minute run, 2 tennis matches, and 1 10×30 second sprint treadmill session. When you think about it, that really isn’t a lot for someone who won his last Ironman triathlon. Right now he is only training 6-8 hours a week.

There are quite a few people who are now moving to this minimal style of training. I get it. Especially for people who are short on time. Short and intense can give a lot of benefits without taking up hours in your day. As someone who is often times an overtrainer, I appreciate the benefits of minimal training. However, I have to be honest. I really do love the hours spent out on the road. If my long run was only 30 minutes, I would be so sad. 😦 But as with all things in life, there is something for everyone. Some people like long runs in solitude and other people like a little variety. I look forward to my two hours of running alone tomorrow. It makes me happy just to think about it…

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: An easy 4.4 miles through Raleigh. Yes, it was faster than planned but that’s what happens when you drink a Hulk it Up – wheatgrass, kale, celery, apples, and ginger. I thought I was doing good to slow down as much as I did. Stats are here.

 

Hulk it Up

My delicious after work snack

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I totally believe most people overtrain, me included. Being able to run 30 min right now is good for me. I want to run 2 hours but it’s not going to happen without considerable damage. My Achilles and Plantar Fascia are angry with me. Sad face.

    January 11, 2013
    • Boo on your achilles and plantar fascia!! Have you tried rolling a golf ball under your foot to help with your plantar fascia? I know that can’t be much fun. 😦 I am actually really bad at overtraining myself. If I can get to the start line healthy in February and March, it will be the first time I’ve actually been able to follow through with a training plan. And when I get injured, it is generally for a month or two at a time. The injury would probably heal faster if I could make myself stop cross training and sit on the couch but I can’t. And then I get really depressed because I can’t run. That’s why I hired a coach for this training season… because I was so tired of overtraining and getting injured. Thankfully, so far so good!

      Sending many get well wishes to your achilles and plantar fascia!

      January 13, 2013
      • Thanks Tracie. I’m golf-balling, doing stretching, exercises … and massage and physio and probably chiropractor as well. I’ve got a funky tape job over my achilles right now which seems to be taking a lot of pressure off the tendon. Lots of slow running and soft surfaces. It’s hard, but I do want to keep running, not be so injured I’m confined to the couch.

        January 13, 2013
  2. Sounds like I am on the right path to not overtraining. While I was overtraining last year, this year I train an hour or two 5-6 days a week but often at low intensity where I’m out playing for fun. I don’t do hills, sprints or anything like that. Having said that, I’m also not a champion athlete by any stretch of the imagination: I just finish.

    January 12, 2013
    • Hopefully this way of training will keep you off the injured list! I can honestly say I’ve never arrived at a start line, being fully prepared. I always miss weeks/months of training due to injuries or get really sick a month beforehand. The training I’m doing right now is by far the healthiest I’ve been leading up to a race. There is a very fine line between training just right and then overtraining.

      January 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

