Skip to content

Balancing Exercises

Sunday morning I listened to Healthy Conversations – a discussion between Chris, Matt, and Mark (fitness and health bloggers). They discussed a variety of topics including strength, sleep, posture, stress, simple meals, and several others. The conversation is a little over a hour but they outline when each section begins so you can skip and find the parts that interest you most.

The discussion on strength had a theme that really stuck with me – there is no need to overcomplicate things. Often times we turn to the latest and greatest ideas because that’s what is exciting and that is where the money is. But the truth is strength can very easily be achieved with a set of dumbbells and 4-5 exercises. They also mention the importance of balancing exercises. Balancing exercises are something I definitely do not do that often. I think because I was a dancer growing up and my balance is already pretty good (or so I think), I neglect this area of my training. But as a runner, balance is important… being center is important. Balance exercises can increase core strength as well as improve muscle balance. (Think injury prevention.)

This article includes some balancing exercises that can be very useful for runners. The exercises include Single Leg Standing on Balance BoardBalance Board LungeWobble Board Squat and Sit2Single Leg Standing Balance with AbductionBeginner Squat on BoardSingle Leg Standing Balance with Hip FlexionLeg Standing Balance with Isometric Leg LiftOne Foot Balance with Dumbbells

I think I have a few new exercises I can add to my general strength workout tomorrow. Let’s see if my balance is as good as I think it is.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was a 5 minute warm up followed by 10 intervals of 3 minutes hard with 1 minute recovery and then a cool down. Goal pace was around 7:10 but I went slightly faster than that. My legs felt better today than they did yesterday so that made me happy. 🙂 Stats are here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

