Skip to content

Injury Prevention

Including today, I have been running for 16 days straight. No break. No cross training. Only running, with some strength training and yoga of course. In 16 days I have run 117.46 miles. A previous version of me would have thought this nearly impossible. But my running is going so well right now and I couldn’t be happier. However, I am mandating a day off from running tomorrow (Mario has already been instructed that if he sees me put on my arm warmers, he should lock me in the bathroom ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). There are two things I am doing differently that I think are helping my recovery and allowing me to run injury free. I always wear my 2XU compression socks and drink Endurox after every hard workout.

I’ve already written a blog about 2XU and Endurox before I had a chance to really start using them. Now that I’ve been using them consistently since November, I’d like to share a few things I like about each.

The socks are tight! I do not wear them while running, only after. The first time I tried to put them on, I was pretty sure they wouldn’t fit over my calves. Once on, my legs were definitely compressed. The socks hold their shape very well and do not lose their ability to compress between uses. (I don’t wash them every time). I can’t think of any day when my legs have been sore from a workout the day before. Even on Sundays, after a long run on Saturday, my legs feel fresh. These socks are great and well worth every penny.

Other than the awesome nutrients in Endurox, there are two huge pluses. It tastes great (lemon lime flavor) and it mixes so incredibly well. I use a blender bottle, shake it up, and that’s it. There are absolutely no pieces or clumps of powder left at the bottom. I couldn’t believe it the first time I used Endurox. So easy and so delicious.

There you have it. My two favorite products for recovery. To run for 16 straight days is a huge accomplishment for me. I’m very thankful I cam across these products and I’m crossing my fingers I can stay injury free for my two upcoming races.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I hadย amazingย 15.3 miler today. A two mile warm up with 3×2 mile repeats @ marathon pace followed by the remaining miles at a normal pace. My splits for my intervals were 7:14, 7:17, 7:05, 7:14, 7:12, and 7:15. The last 6.5 miles were run sub 8:20 with the last two being at 7:37 and 7:54. Maybe running so easy yesterday really helped me today. Stats are here.

And on another note, I’d like to connect with some more friends on Garmin Connect. Does anybody else use their website? My username is ttrodriguez so connect with me if you need a buddy!

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve just signed up for Garmin Connect (Dani_the_girl), but I think we’ve already ‘connected’?

    I was starting to think to myself that you haven’t written about any rest days lately, and I remember you ran on what was supposed to be a rest day. Hope you continue to stay injury free! ๐Ÿ™‚

    January 5, 2013
    • Yes! We did connect. ๐Ÿ™‚ And you are absolutely right, rest days were my thing. I’ve just been feeling so good. According to my training plan, rest days are suppose to be Sunday. Tomorrow is a yoga day.

      January 5, 2013
    • And how is the new Garmin? I’ve never had one with a foot pod.

      January 5, 2013
  2. Colin DeWaay #

    Run some miles for me too would ya??? LOL

    January 5, 2013
    • You got it! And lift some weights for me ๐Ÿ™‚

      January 6, 2013
      • Colin DeWaay #

        Done! Haha

        January 6, 2013
  3. I’ve recently started wearing compression socks at night after running to help with my shin splints. I also use some Tiger Balm heat rub when I can feel my shin splints to help get the blood flowing. Not straight after a run though – after running I take a cold water bath.

    16 days straight running is amazing. Well done.

    January 6, 2013
    • I have tried so many times to do the cold water bath but it is so hard for me. Especially since it is so cold already outside. The last thing I want to do is come home and continue to be freezing in the shower. It’s definitely something I should start doing though. And you like the Tiger Balm? I’ve never used it personally but I sometimes see people at the gym do. Might be worth looking into…

      January 6, 2013
      • Yes, the cold water bath is much easier here in the subtropics where it’s almost always warm. Actually, in summer it’s almost too hot to have a warm shower. I imagine that I would definitely not go the cold water shower if I lived somewhere cold ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I don’t mind Tiger Balm. It’s a bit messy so cover it up if you use it (it seems to stain yellow). I like that it doesn’t burn with that chili-like burn that some other heat rubs have

        January 6, 2013
  4. Your the second person I’ve heard lately praising Endurox (the other was a runner I respected as well – capable of a 2:35 marathon). Looks like something I’ll have to try, though I’m generally a skeptic about such things.

    January 6, 2013
    • I definitely recommend it. My running coach recommended it to me and he is a 2:22 marathoner. He also said that practically all of the runners he trained with use this stuff. Endurox comes in several other flavors but I’m a big fan of the lemon lime.

      January 6, 2013
  5. Nina Newell Dunn #

    Hi! I sent you a request on Garmin Connect, but just in case you didn’t get it…I am pinkshoes2. Congrats on your training so far…that is amazing. You are such an inspiration for us beginners. Thanks for all of the great info and for all of the time you put into researching topics to share with us. Hope to see you soon!

    January 6, 2013
    • Yay! Thanks Nina! We are connected now ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on the 10K yesterday. That’s a great start to 2013. What races are you planning this year? Quite a few of us are going to Myrtle Beach for the half in February. We are also doing the Tobacco Trail race in March. Hope all is well and Happy New Year!!

      January 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

