Skip to content

Dr. George Sheehan

George Sheehan was a cardiologist who died 4 days short of his 75th birthday in 1993. Thirty years before that, he discovered running, which helped turn him into an oh so very wise running guru. He combined running with philosophy and wisdom. Running wasn’t about burning off yesterday’s pizza. It was about adding meaning to life.

A few years ago I read Dr. Sheehan’s book Running & Being: The Total ExperienceIt is full of wisdom with regards to all aspects of running – learning, training, healing, racing, winning, losing, suffering, meditating, growing and many others. Dr. Sheehan also has quite a few memorable quotes. I’d like to share a few of my favorites:

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit.”

“Why race? The need to be tested, perhaps; the need to take risks; and the chance to be number one.”

“To keep from decaying, to be a winner, the athlete must accept pain–not only accept it, but look for it, live with it, learn not to fear it.”

“Success rests in having the courage and endurance, and above all, the will to become the person you are.”

Going back and rereading some parts of Running & Being was the perfect way to start the new year. I’m off to reread the meditation chapter now. It’ll keep me motivated for my meditation challenge this month. Happy 2013 everyone!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: My track workout got moved to tomorrow and I was pretty thankful for that. Mario and I had a great time with friends last night and I’m pretty sure I would have failed epically at my 1200 meter repeats. 😉 Instead we went for a 6 mile run and considering we were up until 4:30am, woke up at 9:30 am, and I wasn’t feeling so great, I’d say this run was a HUGE success. Stats are here.

With Mario and Dinner

With Mario at Dinner

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. What amazing motivation for 2013! So many good quotables!

    “Why race? The need to be tested, perhaps; the need to take risks; and the chance to be number one.”

    January 2, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. George Sheehan: Running « Rubber Tyres --> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

