Skip to content

What if Money Didn’t Matter?

Every time I see my childhood best friend, I always feel a little more motivated and a little more inspired. Heck, she was the impetus for me starting this every day blogging adventure back in May. Today we had a very thought provoking lunch and then I saw this video…

 

 

If money didn’t matter, I would teach young people about the joys of wellness and a healthy lifestyle. I would try and teach them how to find that thing that helps them find who they are as a person. Running brings me an inner peace that clothes, tv shows, or fancy purses never will. Running has provided me with an insight into who I am as a person that I’m not sure I would have found any other place. If money didn’t matter, I would mentor young Β students and use running as a tool to teach about self discovery.

Mario asks what’s stopping me. I’m not really sure.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: This morning I was super excited to run with my cousin who is visiting from New Jersey. We ran an easy 4.5 miles and had great conversations along the way. Although I run by myself most of the time, I do enjoy the company of other runners. Stats are here.

 

I always was the short one

I always was the short one

 

 

 

 

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. All wretch and no vomit!

    I’ve seen this video before. If money didn’t matter, I would go to Le Cordon Bleu Paris Culinary Arts school to learn even more about cooking, baking and pastries, just because. I’d maybe running a cooking school of my own for teenagers (I really like teaching that age group), or open my own cafe, serving breakfast and lunch only, having disadvantaged youth as some of my employees, kind of like what Jamie Oliver did with his apprentices at Fifteen.

    December 29, 2012
    • YUM! That sounds amazing!! I think teenagers would LOVE the opportunity to attend a cooking school. I’m not sure about your school, but the cooking classes we have are not nearly as in depth as the should be. And the students want to know more about cooking. They really like it. I hope you can make it to Le Cordon Bleu one day! My neighbor went for her 50th birthday and absolutely loved every minute of it. Good luck!!

      December 29, 2012
      • I teach my students a variety of techniques and make quite a variety of things, but unfortunately some of the more interesting things that us adults would like end up getting thrown in the garbage because the kids aren’t at all into it. Imagine 6 tarte tatins of puff pastry, caramel and apple getting wasted???? That’s the one thing I don’t like about teaching Home Economics. I find, though, as we progress, the kids are slowly breaking down their barriers and trying new things. We once made Chicken Kiev with a sweet potato/regular potato mash, and I wasn’t sure if the kids would like the sweet potato but they ended up loving it! We also recently made gingerbread houses from scratch, where the kids were given the option of adding in extra spice to their dough (mixed spice and cinnamon), which they all did!

        For our curriculum, it’s about covering cookery techniques, food hygiene concepts and organsisation of skills to prepare a meal, and these can all be done with a variety of dishes.

        December 30, 2012
      • For your ‘money-less’ dream, could you not start a running and wellbeing club at your school? I’m not sure what the North Carolina curriculum is like, but here in Scotland, there is a huge push for health and wellbeing, which has been written into the curriculum and contain outcomes that should be integrated across all subject areas. Just an idea πŸ™‚

        December 30, 2012
      • I’ve actually spoken with one of our assistant principals about starting a wellness club next semester. I’m working on what exactly the club will be about so I can better explain my vision. When I tell my students about, they get super excited. It’s amazing just how interested they are in health and wellness. πŸ™‚

        December 30, 2012
  2. Oh so true! If money didn’t matter I would be a high school teacher. I would teach teenagers English Literature so they learn to love stories because stories are the basis of all dreams. I would teach teenagers Grammar so they can appear educated when they write. I would teach teenagers Legal Studies so they understand how laws are made and how those laws affect their lives because without that knowledge they can’t be informed voters and only informed voters can make a difference in a democracy. I would teach teenagers Physical Education so they can learn to play. Not to win sports events but just to enjoy the pleasure of movement and understand their bodies so they can keep them healthy (Physical Education where I live includes body systems and wellness). If money didn’t matter, I’d tell the teenagers I taught that they are all important and valuable human beings. That they have a right to dream and the power to achieve those dreams.

    But because money matters I work in an office-job that I tolerate. But 2013 is going to see that change. I’m going to sell my house with its big mortgage to buy an apartment that costs less money to buy, maintain and power. I’m going to explore the prospect of going back to university part-time to study a Bachelor of Education (Secondary). I already am a qualified criminologist and lawyer but that’s not where my passion is. I did those studies because I thought I needed to earn money and do what my family told me I should. They don’t want me to be a teacher. They think I will be bored. They don’t see what I see in that profession.

    In 2014, if all goes well, I will be back at university studying to follow the profession I have always been drawn to (applications for 2013 closed last September). I’ll be 39 years old by the time I graduate and 40 by the time I’m a first year teacher. But all going well, I won’t have a mortgage anymore and will have simplified my life so money doesn’t matter.

    So that’s what I’d do if money didn’t matter. And what I am working towards to make sure I can live with my heart not my wallet.

    December 29, 2012
    • Teaching is a fantastic job! I love being a teacher, and find it very rewarding. I teach at-risk youth, and sometimes it’s very trying, but now and again, you see little moments of brilliance that bring tears to your eyes (or at least mine!). I’ve never know any other salary than a teacher’s, but I feel I’m still able to live a comfortable life and see the world. Teaching also allows for exchanges to other countries (one of my teacher friends back in Canada will be embarking on a year’s exchange in Karratha, Western Australia soon), and the ability to teach anywhere in the world! Great holidays as well.

      I’m sure Tracie can vouch for it too πŸ˜‰

      Good luck with your studies!

      December 29, 2012
      • Thanks for the encouragement. πŸ™‚ . Karatha is an interesting town. I spent a weekend there earlier this year..Pretty, isolated and hot. The ocean there is amazingly blue. The rocks so red it burns to look at them. Your friend will love it.

        December 29, 2012
      • Danielle,
        Those moments of brilliance are worth it all. I feel that teaching provides such a unique opportunity that many other professions do not. Where else can you have the chance to impact so many people? Honestly, I’m not sure what I would do if I were confined to an office. Teachers Rule πŸ˜‰ However, I think I need to move into teaching health and wellness.
        Happy Saturday!
        Tracie

        December 29, 2012
    • Andrew,
      Your comment completely made my day. How amazing you are for following your passion. Teaching is a profession like no other. The opportunity to intertact with and impact young people is truly a gift. There can be so many hard days but there are far more good memories. My students have taught me a lot and I am thankful for that every single day. Although the money isn’t what it should be, the experiences are what matter more. I’m sending you ALL my best with your future endeavors and look forward to hearing how it goes.
      Happy Saturday!
      Tracie

      December 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

