Skip to content

Leg Swings

One of my new favorite warm up stretches is the leg swing. I always see the cross country team doing this stretch before a workout so I’ve recently started incorporating them into my pre-run ritual. Along with the other hops, skips, and jumps I do, the leg swing helps to get the blood flowing in my legs.

Here is a great video from New York Road Runners on how to do the forward and side leg swing.

Leg Swing

 

Some tips to remember when doing the leg swing are:

1) Start with feet directly under the hips

2) Stand upright, keeping the back straight.

3) Swing each leg fluidly, without bouncy or jerky movements

4) Maintain balance and stability

5) Keep both legs fairly straight, but don’t lock the knees

Within the past month and a half, I have run more miles and run on a more consistent basis than ever before. Clearly, this is not just because of the leg swings. However, I do think they help a little. 🙂

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was a hill run. I had to run along a hilly route and every hill I came to, I was to run up it at a hard pace. The course I ran wasn’t the hilliest in Raleigh, NC but there were still a few climbs. I was actually very happy with the pace I was able to hit on the uphills. And when I ran my last mile at a 6:43 pace (which felt pretty comfortable), I was even happier. Stats are here. I’m definitely starting to see my improvements.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Legs swings are great for both pre and post run stretching. They are my “go to” movement, especially when I don’t want to lie on the ground for something more involved. Along with hops, skips and drills, leg swings are easily a big winner.

    December 27, 2012
    • Agreed! I’ve found that doing those pre-run dynamic stretches are quite helpful. I always feel like things are moving a little better afterwards. 🙂

      December 28, 2012
  2. Dynamic stretches are great. They are definitely as beneficial as static stretching without the same risk of injury from overdoing or poor form. Plus, legs swings are fun. 😉

    December 28, 2012
    • They are super fun1 I’m glad you think so too 🙂

      December 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

