Skip to content

Godiva

I’ll call this post semi running related. Perhaps because I run so I don’t feel so bad for eating my favorite chocolate.

I pride myself in eating few ingredient, natural foods. I’d rather eat two scoops of almond butter or avocado than eat a Special K breakfast bar. But that’s just me… I prefer natural over artificial. Every Christmas I get a delicious box of Godiva chocolate from my parents. It has become my favorite gift. I really do love chocolate. Tonight after dinner, Mario and I were enjoying some Godiva truffles for dessert. I, being the label reader I am, decided to check out what made Godiva so yummy. Imagine my disappointment when I learned red #40, blue #1, high fructose corn syrup, and sorbitol were just a few of the many ingredients in my chocolate truffle. Then I went to their website to see what they had posted about their ingredients. Oh how my disappointment grew…

Godiva:

Unlike brands that rely heavily on artificial flavors and preservatives, when you buy Godiva you’re buying chocolate made from only the highest quality ingredients.

Grade A dairy butter and heavy cream are used in large quantity in the formulation of our fillings – something that is rarely done by American candy manufacturers.

U.S. Grade #1 nutmeats earn our nut confections high distinction. Notably, many of our chocolates contain hazelnut praline, a favorite European nut filling that is in keeping with our Belgian heritage.

Real cherries that contain no food coloring are used to make our famous Cherry Cordials. For other fruit-filled confections, we use fruits that undergo a special drying process to capture the freshness that is lost during conventional freezing. Pure, additive-free cherry and raspberry juices give flavor to our Cherry and Raspberry Buttercreams that simply cannot be matched.

Well I’m pretty sure red #40 and blue #1 are additives. Therefore, I believe the above information to be false. I wonder what chocolatier would be a better replacement? But don’t worry mom, I’m pretty sure that box of Godiva will be eaten very soon. I’m just disappointed they aren’t what I originally thought. Their chocolate is still tasty though 🙂

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today I did something I haven’t done in almost 2 months. I ran on a treadmill! It was cold and raining here so I took it inside today. I ran 8 miles in 1:05. It was quite boring but I guess it wasn’t that bad. Tomorrow I have a “hill run.”

Godiva

Chocolate Truffle Ingredients

And a few other random Christmas pics….

Breakfast Christmas morning with the family

Christmas morning with the family

Christmas Day Running, Warm up Mile

Christmas Day Running, Warm up Mile and waving at Dad

 

Christmas Day Intervals - doesn't look as fun :)

Christmas Day Intervals – Not as fun as the warm up 🙂

This was our dinner tonight. Mario loves his new fancy plate and wine glass…

Pork with sautéed apples and couscous

Pork with sautéed apples and couscous

 

 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Shame about the additives but I’m with you, Godiva chocolates are still delicious!

    December 26, 2012
    • I never though Godiva would have red #40 but at least now I know. However, it does make me appreciate my Trader Joe’s 5 ingredient dark chocolate a little more 🙂

      December 28, 2012
  2. EJD #

    Earth Fare truffles would be a great option instead of Godiva!

    January 1, 2013
  3. Kevin #

    Try Theo chocolates – high-quality organic ingredients. I haven’t tried their confections, but I love their 85% dark bar. The 70% salted almond is very good too. You’ll be happy to leave Godiva behind.

    January 27, 2013
    • Yum! That sounds delicious, especially the salted almond. I’ll definitely be on the look out for Theo! Thanks for the recommendation Kevin 🙂

      January 28, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Hot Chocolate Challenge: Godiva « THEZACORNER

Leave a Reply

