Skip to content

2016 Olympic Marathon

My father-in-law is great. He is currently expressing interest in traveling to Rio for the 2016 Olympics. Why? Well it’s not because he really wants to see Usain Bolt or Shalane Flanagan. Nope. He is however, certain that I’ll be there running my first Olympic marathon and wants to be there to cheer me on. 🙂 Oh I do love my family!

Unfortunately, I’m fairly certain I will not be there proudly representing the USA. Especially since I learned last week that the qualifying times for the Olympic Trials have been lowered. And just when I thought I was getting fast…

Scott Douglas:

To run in the 2016 Trials, men will have to run 2:18 or faster and women will have to run 2:43 or faster. For the 2012 Trials, the standards were 2:19 and 2:46, respectively… “The main thing in revising the standards is to continue to ‘raise the bar,'” Jim Estes, director of events for USATF, told Runner’s World Newswire. “That seems to have worked if you look at 2012 compared to 2008–the numbers were higher, both overall and as far as the number of ‘A’ qualifiers.”

The 2:18 and 2:43 times are for the B standard. If you want your trip paid for by the host city, then you will have to meet the A standard. For men, that would be 2:15 and for women, 2:37. For a little added perspective, the A standard is equal to an average pace of 5:09/mile for men and 6:00/mile for women. In other words, really freakin’ fast. Maybe I should step away from the Christmas cookies…

Merry Christmas Eve Eve and I hope everyone is having some well deserved R&R!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was suppose to be my day off, but I couldn’t help myself. I ran an easy 3 miles and then went to the gym for some strength training. I’ve been neglecting the weights and I my body can tell. I’m already starting to feel sore. Stats from today are here.

 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. MikeW #

    Your family rules. Keep mixing it up! Merry Christmas!

    December 24, 2012
    • You’re right, they’re pretty awesome. I hope you are enjoying a safe and happy holiday!! Here is to an amazing 2013!!
      Tracie

      December 25, 2012
  2. Wow! They’re some quick times.
    Merry Christmas

    December 24, 2012
    • Yes, super quick. And I would be excited to run just one mile at that pace. Some people are just wired differently 🙂
      Merry Christmas to you!!
      Tracie

      December 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

