Skip to content

Running on Christmas Day

Last night Mario and I met my coach and his wife for a few cervezas. For me, it was hours of free running wisdom and I loved it. However, I had to call him out on my Christmas day workout – 6×800 @ 5K pace… seriously? Not to mention the warm up and cool down miles. He laughed and said that when he made the schedule, he didn’t realize it was Christmas day. According to Gavin, I could move the workout to another day if I needed to. At first, I was considering my alternatives. Then I thought to myself, somebody else will be out there running their 800 meter repeats and that is the person I want to beat. So my response to switching up my workouts: not going to happen.

I’ve run on Christmas day for probably the last 5 years. I love it. It’s like my break between eating, cooking, and eating again. I love being around my family but it’s so relaxing to slip away and have a hour of alone time. My Christmas tradition is lacing up while everyone else is enjoying a little R&R. Sure, intervals are not my ideal Christmas day run but once I reach my 1:30 half marathon goal, then I’ll consider taking the holidays easy. Until then, I’ll try a little harder. I’ve already planned where to run my 800 meter repeats Tuesday morning. It’ll make all of the delicious food Tuesday evening that more delicious. I look forward to it!

Will you be running on Christmas day? And how do you like my awesome Christmas ornament from Kristy?

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was actually the first day I’ve missed a workout. I had a scheduled 5 mile “up tempo” run however, my body said no thank you. It was a combination of two things: the delicious cervezas last night and the sleep I missed because we stayed out so late. I’m going to make up for it first thing in the morning, I promise. 🙂

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. definitely gonna run on Xmas day around Osterley Park – will take pics, it’s stunning

    December 21, 2012
    • I hope you had an amazing run today! I’m going to check for pics right now 🙂 Merry Christmas!!
      Tracie

      December 25, 2012
      • lol – little late in blogging – they’re going up now!

        December 26, 2012
  2. Was going to run Xmas day, but my weekend plans have changed which means I’ll run Xmas Eve and Boxing Day instead. Initially, my husband thought I was crazy to do it but he soon realised what a good thing it would be to do an easy 4 mile run. He was going to do it with me, and we were going to do it Santa suits from a recent Santa run. Merry Christmas!

    December 21, 2012
    • Santa suits!?!? That is freakin’ awesome!!! I hope you and your husband are enjoying a safe and happy holiday!!! Please tell me you are posting pics of your run in the suits. I’m going to look right now 🙂
      Tracie

      December 25, 2012
      • No Santa suits unfortunately. I ran just under 4 miles in the rain Boxing Day, and I’m about to go do another 4 today in my one of my new Helly Hansen running tops from my husband.

        December 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

