Skip to content

Diet Pepsi

Did you hear? Diet Pepsi is switching up their formula. Now instead of just one dangerous additive in your drink, you get two – aspartame and acesulfame. Yummy! Twice the danger! (Just in case you didn’t already know how I felt about fake sugars…)

Associated Press:

John Sicher, editor and publisher of the industry tracker Beverage Digest, said the synergistic effect of mixing the two sweeteners is intended to help keep the drink’s sweetening power at a constant level, making it taste fresh longer.

Apparently aspartame doesn’t have a long enough shelf life so the added acesulfame “will ensure consistency with every sip.”  If you want to read more about the dangers of acesulfame here is a great article. Here is another on the dangers of aspartame. And just to add a little icing on the cake, I want to let you know that all of the soda machines for the kids at school sell ONLY diet sodas and water. Supposedly it is a move to fight the obesity epidemic. But no worries, the vending machines for the teachers have the real stuff. Either they don’t want us consuming controversial additives or they aren’t worried about us putting on a few pounds. Either way, this whole fake sugar thing continues to blow my mind.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Today was one of those days where I literally had to squeeze in a run in the only hour I had free. I was rushed, but I made it. 6 .13miles in 46:20. Stats are here.  It was actually a really awesome run and I felt great the entire time. I’m happy I used my spare hour wisely.

AND on another note, Hogan’s wake was tonight. I heard his mom telling some girls to smile at three people tomorrow and tell a stranger hello. That’s what Hogan would have done and that made me smile.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Colin DeWaay #

    All I can do is shake my head!!!

    December 17, 2012
  2. Ugh! Where are government regulations when we really need them?

    December 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

