Skip to content

ABC Drills

Yesterday before my cool down, Gavin showed me some running drills. I’ve always had my own version of drills but it was nice to have someone show me exactly what to do. The purpose of these three drills, also known as the ABC drills, is to help with leg turnover and form. Two of them I could do quite easily. However I’m pretty sure I looked like a crazy person throwing my legs around for the other one.

In looking for a good source to describe the ABC drills, I found that most sites included the same A and B drill as Gavin showed me but had a different C drill. Maybe I’ll just add a D and do both 🙂

Rebecca J.:

The ABCs of running are exercises designed to break down the running stride into specific parts. When you practice these drills individually you develop strength and muscle memory that will improve your overall running form. With improved form you will become more efficient, every step will take less energy, and you’ll ultimately become faster as you fatigue later into the run!

This video demonstrates the three drills I read about on most sites…

Instead of the butt kick, I did a high skip. It’s a similar version of the A drill, just with a high powerful skip. I like doing drills. It’s nice to have something different to do in addition to running. I also think doing these drills will help with with my hip issues. While doing that B drill, I definitely had to focus on engaging my hips as to not get off balance. Fun times at the track.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I ran an easy 6 miles in the cold, rain, and wind today. Not ideal weather for running but I can’t change what Mother Nature brings my way. Stats are here.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. ABCs seem so odd, but once you do them right and consistently it’s like your mind creates a whole other connection to what running is and the results come. Good topic to comment on.

    December 13, 2012
    • I completely agree! That mind-body connection is essential to improving as a runner. It’s crazy how muscle memory works. At first I thought I looked super silly doing them but now I think I’m doing what the Kenyans do so it’s all good 🙂

      December 16, 2012
      • Act like a Kenyan and who knows what can happen….?!

        December 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

