Skip to content

Hard Work

I’ve been thinking a lot about hard work lately. As the holidays approach, schedules become hectic and time to run becomes scare. With trying to make the most of every moment of every day, I constantly have to ask myself how bad do you want it?  Bad enough to skip 30 minutes resting on the couch. Yup. No downtime in the Rodriguez household.

There are a few local runners who I secretly stalk their race times. They are fast and they work hard. My goal one day (other than my time goals) is to beat one of them, or at least come really really close. But in order to do that, I’m starting to realize just how much harder I must work. Whenever I want to skip my strength training session, someone else isn’t and that is what makes the difference. 

I found an article from The Sport Journal about hard work, determination, and personal sacrifice. This paragraph really stuck with me:

It will take hard work on the part of anyone who wants to be the best. How much work will it take? That depends on your final goal, or the greatness of your dream. If you want to be the best, then you are going to have to do more than others do. Kobe Bryant, in the off season, shoots 2000 times a day. Are you willing to work that hard to be the best? Any ordinary person can stay ordinary, but those who will work hard, doing
a daily routine, will become extraordinary people. Ordinary people do not just wake up one day with large, strong arms or legs; they use hard work to build their muscles. There is no secret here and definitely no short cuts. No one is born looking like Mr. Universe. Do you want to be bigger, stronger, and faster? You must buy into this daily work ethic. You must learn to carry this method of success into every realm of your daily existence. If you will learn to reflect a spirit of excellence in everything you do, the hard work will become second nature to you. Make a name for yourself by being the best at everything you set your mind to master. Become a daily learner, a daily reader, and educate yourself in the area that you want to be the best. “HARD WORK;” there is no easy way to accomplish what no other has done. “HARD WORK” built America. “HARD WORK” is one element which will help you achieve your greatest dreams. The problem with our human nature is that we want everything right now. We have become a “microwave society.” We want success the same way; we want it right now and we want it the easy way. Sorry, wrong answer. If you buy into this type of method for success, then you are the one who probably buys lottery tickets, hoping for your millions. The odds of that happening are stacked against you; those people make a lot of money from those tickets. There is nothing that pays off better than good old fashioned HARD WORK! –  Coach Duane Bemis (Read the entire article here.) 

There is something way more gratifying about working really hard and accomplishing a goal than just going day by day without striving for something. My husband is by far one of the hardest working people I know and he has taught me a thing or two about sacrifice and success. With regards to my running, I’ve always thought I worked hard but nothing like the local runners I stalk :). I’ve never wanted it bad enough. Now I do.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: Tonight’s track workout was a 1.25 mile warmup followed by 200, 400, 600, 800, 800, 600, 400, 200 and another 1.25 mile cooldown. The goal was to run the intervals at 5K pace (assuming a 6:20/mile). I was running a 6:00 pace except the last 600 which was 6:19. After the two 800s my  legs said thanks, but no thanks. I finished up with drills, strides and my cooldown. Stats are here.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. LOVE this!

    December 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

